We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent...service awful”
Review of Falafel King

Falafel King
Ranked #310 of 1,434 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: falafel king restaurant and caffe and take away for Egyptian and Mediterranean food -very cheap and delicious falafel wraps - amazing value. Dodgy food hygiene report from Sheffield City Council - but was April 2011 - so hope it's improved! Ate there 8/2/2013 - no ill effects so far....
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food excellent...service awful”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a lovely falafel wrap and have no complaints about the food. However the man serving was beyond rude. Hostile and Thanks! Home early as they didnt find any work for me today (I was on stand-by) so was able to get the 10.30 train...home for 2.

Alf is looking forward to me going away as Auntie Mary is coming to stay....he gets even more spoiled than when he's at Barbs - just dont get the photos to show!

I've attached some of photos of Black Sail, views, walking

Talk soon


On Thu, Mar 20, 2014 at 8:40 AM, Christine ingleton <cingleton@btinternet.com> wrote:
Good to catch up, just to say have a nice holiday the Alhambra is supposed to be beautiful. Milly says have a good time and hope Alfie has a good stay in 5 star Hotel Barbara. X

Sent from my iPad



Delicious food. Service beyond hostile. Was quiet scary at being treated with such disdain. Asked for a glass of water three times. I work nearby and have been here many times as the food is nice but will never go again as the waiter on this particular saturday was soo rude. Surly and dismissive and on his mobile online most if the time. When we tried to pay he ignored us and carried on talking on his phone. He over charged us but to be honest couldn't wait to get out as we were the only customers and he made it very obvious that he would like us to leave. Won't go again. Maybe he doesn't like women, certainly gave that impression.





.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“I could live on these”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Amazingly cheap healthy soft and crispy falafels in a lovely warm flatbread with salad. Like being in Old Jaffa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cynthiaMayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stomach Pain”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

eat there a few times and get pain stomach , i realised they do not wash the vegetable .
i prefer Fanoush restaurant it's a falafel restaurant too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sendtome65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Falafel Wraps!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The wraps here are excellent. They're tasty, large and great value. Other food is on offer, but I can never resist the falafel wraps! : )
The staff are polite and friendly. The place is quite cramped, it's more of a takeaway with tables than an actual sit down restaurant.
Be aware that it can get quite busy at lunchtimes, but it's worth the wait.

Helpful?
1 Thank sme1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looking for a good take-away alternative?”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm often lured by take-away food, but am often put off by how greasy/fatty the food is, not to mention the calories or price.
I regularly visit Falafel King for their famous 'Falafel King Wrap' at £2.50 it's an absolute bargain, tasty, hot, fresh ingredients..

Well worth a visit!

It's Falafel-tastic for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarzy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falafel King also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Falafel King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing