We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual meals only”
Review of Tropeiro Sheffield - CLOSED

Tropeiro Sheffield
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tropeiro is a Brazilian Restaurant based on the “Rodizio” dining concept. In Brazil we take the simplest idea of combining wonderfully seasoned meat and flames with skill and patience, in order to capture the meat´s individual flavour. These mouth-watering meats are cooked on the barbecue and carved directly to your plate at the table. With each of the different cuts offering a unique and succulent experience, you just can’t help but indulge yourself. Our menu offers up to twelve different cuts of meat, depending on the time of day you eat, and our full range includes beef, pork, lamb and chicken; accompanied by unlimited access to a sumptuous selection of gourmet salads, fresh-cut vegetables and a variety of traditional Brazilian side dishes.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casual meals only”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A ate with a small party as part of birthday celebrations.

The meat, it's service and quality created a good atmosphere and ensured everyone was full. It is quite a cheap meal, one course stretched out over the evening. The servers providing food were polite and busy, meeting requests for specific meat quickly.

Unfortunately the service let this place down. I would expect that their main profit comes from drinks sales, with that in mind there was no reason that my party was not positively drunk. The reality was that cocktails take a very long time to arrive, water needs multiple requests and arrives with half a table worth of glasses. My guests sat with empty glasses in front of them far too often. Eventually I waved a waitress down for a bottle of wine. Once it was finished the empty bottle was taken without an offer for another. On that note, any time empty glasses and bottles were cleared time was not taken to offer more. I ordered my second bottle of wine from a gentleman serving the meat after failing to flag a waitress.

Perhaps a staff member was ill and there were no replacements, I know what that is like and can slow service down. It doesn't excuse clearing empty glasses and not offering more drinks.

The room fills with noise quickly, conversation around the table might be difficult depending on where in the room you are sat.

Children under 5 eat for free, which is nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kered999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    135
    60
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mouthwatering and unique!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic dining experience with enthusiastic, welcoming and knowledgable wait staff.
Haven't had such a positive dining experience at such a reasonable price in a long time. Nothing remotely disappointing was served and we raved about everything. A diverse selection of delicious food on the buffet and the meat was amazing. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bestbrit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wow Meat”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just got back from Tropeiro and had a very nice nice.
We requested a table by the window and they made sure we got one of only 2 tables.
We were offered the salad bar and then explained that the meat dishes would come around . They came with steaks, pork chicken, ham and duck.
Wow we were so full.
The meats were great either rare or well done. Some thing for everyone.
We all enjoyed but we would not rush to go back as it would be the same. We can not see there would be any variety.
For first time visitors a good night.
Also good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loud and tough”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Visited on a Saturday evening with a group of eight. The service was prompt but the food left a lot to be desired. It was tough and not all hot. watch out for the bill 1st they had omitted to take off the deposit and second there was a whopping service charge which if not careful you could miss.Sadly our conversation was somewhat curtailed by the loud background music which made it difficult to converse at a reasonable level.
An experience not to be repeated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
why, Derbyshire, of course.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cheap cuts of meat on a stick - will delight the undiscerning!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If quantity is more important, or even just as important, as quality - and you like meat - then don't hesitate to come here. You'll love it.

If however you appreciate good quality meat in particular then I'd seriously go somewhere else.

Look - this place isn't "bad" it's just very average fare with a bit of theatre thrown in. It's a big place inside, used to be the Bar & Grill before - a decent quality modern brasserie type place. But that ultimately failed in Sheffield because it's not really what the majority seem to want. However, I think this place will fare far better - because it's now gone a bit more downmarket than in its previous guise - the restaurant is more canteen like with tables packed in tight - and the food...well, it just keeps coming if you keep asking.

This place is obviously another chain restaurant and there are several more around the UK. You get a chance to help yourself to some salad type things - and the selection isn't bad actually - but then you sit down and turn your little beer mat type thing over so it shows green side up and the food starts coming.

They bring the food, various cuts of meat, on large metal skewers and they carve bits of it off at the table. You grab your little tweezers and place it on your plate.

They brought sausages to start with - which were fine. Then came various other cuts of meat, but none of it particularly good quality. They were cheap cuts in the main. Brisket, chicken thighs, a tough old bit of lamb and so on. They had no chicken - other than the little bony thighs, and after several rounds of meat we'd still not seen any steak. I asked if they had any and only at this point did the waiter come back with a bit of sirloin - by far the best meat of the night.

It seems like they will try and fill you up with the cheap cuts and you'll not get to see much of the better cuts of meat unless you specifically ask for it. I can't say I blame them tbh - because I don't think most diners here would know the difference anyway.

But if you do - then you might find this a tad disappointing.

Not bad - but not very good - just average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealDerbyTup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropeiro Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing