We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice coffee but stale cake” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barretts at 235 - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barretts at 235
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Tauranga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice coffee but stale cake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Coffee okay but they don't have skimmed milk. Parkin looked yummy but was very dry, definitely not fresh. For the price I expect a bit more really. Poor for atmosphere as no one else there and no music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraCawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little treasure at the end of the road.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We went for our breakfast this morning as its our wedding anniversary.

I had eggs benedict and my husband had a full English. My eggs were perfect! Soft poached runny yolks and hollandaise sauce just perfect.

To top it all off, I received a twenty per cent discount as I work for the emergency services!! Will be a regular from now on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I go here quite often, either to sit in or take away.
I've never had a bad experience, always excellent and exciting food.
It's nice to see somewhere doing interesting things for lunch, not just your run-of-the-mill sandwiches.
Coffee is great too and the cakes
are very good.
Service is always with a smile and food arrives quickly.
Overall it's my favourite local place to have lunch, please keep it up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Favourite Latte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Since Barrets @235 opened in Crookes I have become a regular customer. I visit at least 4 times a week. You are always made very welcome and are never rushed in to leaving. The atmosphere is very relaxing. I have introduced many of my work colleagues to Barretts lovely lattes!

Free WIFI is also a great bonus!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LatteLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Sheffield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We tried the new coffee shop on our high street last year. My wife is a self confessed coffee-connoisseur and wouldn't stop telling me how nice their lattes were.

As it was her birthday fast approaching, I decided to ask for a gift voucher for her.
I expected a bit of a order sheet stapled to a receipt. However, I was over the moon with what I got.... A fully personalised one off gift certificate. Needless to say my wife was very pleased!

Excellent staff, lovely tasty coffee.... what more could you want?

My only negative to add is that we now HAVE to go in every Sunday morning for our weekly chill-out!

I would highly recommend Barretts, but, being selfish, I want to keep it to myself!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjcaters4, Owner at Barretts at 235, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Wow thank you for such a fantastic review we really appreciate the time you took to write such a positively pleasing piece.

Many thanks James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barretts at 235 also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing