We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not value for money”

Owlerton Greyhound Stadium
Ranked #8 of 163 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the thrills and excitement of first class greyhound racing at Yorkshire's premier racetrack. Situated just 5 minutes drive from Sheffield's vibrant city centre, Owlerton Stadium is the perfect venue for partygoers, couples, families and companies looking for a fun and affordable night out with a difference.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

A night at The Dogs was not my cup of tea. On a work night out, 12 of us booked an Executive Box and at £25 each I thought this expensive,then there's betting costs on top. It was cold too, the small room was cramped with us all in and only seemed to be heated by a fan blower above the patio door onto the viewing veranda. The Box seemed to be of a Portakabin type construction which is not really 'executive'. Buffet looked good but too chilled from the cooler.
Staff were very friendly and worked hard, and the chap who took bets was really on the ball and patient with our party. The dog racing also looked well organised but the place looked shabby in some areas. I'm not a gambler so I wouldn't go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeanBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    121
    30
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ultimate night out for all occasions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My band played the stadium on the 14th of December 2013, from entering the venue to leaving the staff were unbelievably brilliant. Friendly and polite, we were looked after from start to finish.

The food was beautiful, well presented and delicious. Adding to that was having a flutter on the dogs whilst we ate, a perfect combination for what is a perfect night out.

One more thing, we have to give a shout out to Rochelle. She was on hand for anything that was needed and along with the rest of the staff, made the whole night run perfectly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimplyTakeThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always a cracking night !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been to The stadium many times with all ages of friends and family. Either for a drink and a bet or a meal In the panorama Resturant. The food in the Resturant is exceptional.
One night I even sponsored a race for some friends that came with us it was great they had the race named after them. They also went and presented the trophy to the winner. It was about £40 and was given the trophy back by the winner to keep they were over the moon.
The staff really do well to collect your bets from the table.
Even the chicken in a basket is great it is what it is. A beer bet and a bite to eat.

If your down to earth you will have a great night. If your not go to the ritz !!

Helpful?
Thank 6046james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Work Christmas night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Eight of us visited on 5 December for a work's Christmas do. £25 for 4 courses, all well presented, well cooked, enough without being over faced and served at a steady pace to enable you to bet on the races as well. Service from the staff was friendly and helpful, atmosphere was lively. Nice and clean venue. This was in the Panorama Restaurant, but have been in a box for a birthday party and in the main bar for a basket meal. All good, would recommend for a night out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnSheffieldShefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great night out for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Went for my 50 th there were 29 of us in our party were made to feel very welcome and asked about any special requirements before service resumed food was excellent and didn't wait long between courses would defiantly go again many thanks to all the staff for a wonderful night

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janey468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owlerton Greyhound Stadium also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Owlerton Greyhound Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing