We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city pub”
Review of Fagan's

Fagan's
Ranked #338 of 1,455 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Sheffield, England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great city pub”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Friendly old favourite pub a few mins walk from the city centre. Renowned for good beer and very reasonably priced menu of good home cooked food. Love going there, staff always friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basil Fawlty lives on”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A back street pub low on atmosphere with a landlord in true Basil Fawlty style who favours the few and ignores the rest.
In times gone by the pub had a great reputation for traditional music however the current crop of musicians who attend the sessions are not inclusive, ignore new customers and are average performers.
Gardners Rest and The Grapes are better options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MusicPubFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely pub!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My grandpa's favourite haunt when he was alive and I can see why. Although only small, its relaxed environment creates a lovely atmosphere and is well worth a visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Massive all day breakfast”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stick to plain English fayre and you won't be disappointed, step off the reservation into owt fancy and your likely to end up wi egg on tha face, which is ironic as anything with egg in the menu is usually great.
The staff are easy going and congenial and the all day breakfast is so big there should be a free tee shirt if you eat all of it.
The decor is out of the 1960's but so what, if that breakfast turns up who cares. Don't change a thing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pindypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts, good beer and homely grub!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Myself and my partner regularly top off our visits to Sheffield with a cosy few hours in Fagan's. The food is impeccable, if you're proper folk, the portions are not for the faint-hearted, but it's hearty, good quality home-cooked grub. On previous occasions we've had pies, vegetable curry and most recently a beautiful sausage and sautéed potato and veg dish which blew my mind, my partner chose the black pudding, bacon and apple.

It's great value with lovely hosts and a homely feel, we just love spending time there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat_ch2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fagan's also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Fagan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing