We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelming food but very good service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prithiraj

Prithiraj
Ranked #100 of 1,417 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi, Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our aim is for customer to be satisfied in all aspects
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
234 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Underwhelming food but very good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I noticed that this restaurant was at number two on the Trip Advisor list for Sheffield so last Friday my wife and I went along to see why it is so highly rated - expecting a really superb Indian meal. When we arrived at 6pm I was surprised to see that only one other table was occupied.

The environment was quite pleasant and clean even though the air-conditioning was far too chilly. The young staff on duty were all very civil and helpful. No problem with the quality of service.

However, the food itself was unexceptional. I had Handi Lamb and I found the meat didn't match up to the soft slow-cooked deliciousness that I have enjoyed in various other Indian restaurants. My wife's Chicken Tikka Massala was rather bland - just creamy and sweet. And the onion rice was not caramelised or slightly smoky.Was the nan bread made from scratch behind the scenes in a tandoori oven? Doubt it. No - I am afraid the food was just okay - nothing more. Large bottles of Cobra were £4.50 each.

A significant number of the Prithiraj's previous reviewers have only contributed one or two reviews to Trip Advisor which should perhaps make some alarm bells ring.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prithi R, Manager at Prithiraj, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are deeply apologetic that you did not receive the quality of food that our restaurant is now known for. We understand that not everyone can be perfect which is why 5-10mins after getting the meal our waiters will come and ask if the meal is ok. But unfortunately I can not remember any of our dinner on a friday claiming that the lamb is not to its standards. Finally the reviews on the site control I would believe ,we like to think and believe that we are known for quality and the service so please do not think that the reviews are meant to ring bells. We have no intention of misleading the customers. Finally ate our nan bread fresh then 110% fresh it would cost us more to buy ready made nan bread but besides the point it would not suit out standard of quality we intend to provide. I would like to say that please give us the chance to prove to you and change your views.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    39
    22
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good prices, family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went on a Sunday evening, so I don't know what it would be like on Friday night, but the atmosphere was welcoming. Everywhere clean and well presented.

The food was really nice. Lots of different dishes, plenty for vegetarians. Quite a few choices that I'd never seen before. Our waiter wasn't just the guy who brings you food - he really seemed to know his Indian cuisine. After we'd chosen our main dishes he gave us some advice about the best side dishes for what we'd chosen. I changed my side orders on the basis of what he'd recommended, and it really seemed to bring out the flavour of the dish I'd chosen.

The whole bill came to £55 for four adults, including side orders, starters and drinks. Well worth it. I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank None O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prithi R, Manager at Prithiraj, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review allowing others to view the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I went for an early dinner and had the chicken tikka masala, garlic naan, and mango lassi. The food was so tasty; some of the best indian food I have ever had. I must say that the mango lassi was made fresh and is by far the best I have ever had in my life. I had a great experience at this restaurant as the food was delicious, the environment was relaxing, and the service was good. I will definitely be going back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prithi R, Manager at Prithiraj, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much we are pleased to hear that your time at prithiraj was a very pleasant and enjoyable time hope we can have the opportunity to bring the same again to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a birthday meal, but the restaurant wasn't to know that! The food was lovely, and would be happy to have takeaways from here in the future. Previous reviews say that service was amazing, and whilst it was good the only comment I would make is that we could have done with more drinks checking throughout the meal as we ran out. Also if the waiters could smile a bit more the atmosphere would be far better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice and spice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I tried this restaurant for the first time this week and found it to be very good. The service was excellent and the environment good. The poppadoms and pickles were amazing and certainly awoke the palate. All the main courses were delicious. I would compare the restaurant to Mogul Room on Sharrow Vale Road which is one of my favourite and it certainly matched this standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prithiraj also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Prithiraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing