We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stadium Great Atmosphere”

Hillsborough Stadium
Ranked #37 of 167 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great Stadium Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After travelling to many grounds supporting Exeter City, I can tell you that it was a great pleasure in going to a great stadium to support my team, I have been twice with the Grecians and each time, the atmosphere was great. Exeter won 1 and lost the other, but we found the Wednesday fans friendly
I have been to Old Trafford, The New Wembley and the Etihad but for being in a real football ground, Hillsborough is the tops
The low ratings in the reviews would come from Sheffield United and Rotherham supporters and can be discounted, my ratings are totally unbiased

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkiesinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    23
    11
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haxey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant traditional UK ground”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Some of the negative reviews on here I fear are from supporters of this teams rivals.

Unlike the new modern grounds in the country, this ground is full of character, a propper traditional 4 sided English ground.

Always a great atmosphere, and despite it being an old aging ground, its always a fantastic place to visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home to SWFC and a shrine to fans”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This ground has seen better times and was once at the pinnacle of the top grounds in the country. It serves it's purpose now, but it looks tired and is in need of freshening up. The match day catering has improved this year with various meal deals, but the cost is high especially if you are a family with the demands of hungry children. Commercially for business meals and events it is very good and I would recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hillsborough Stadium and football ground”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Home too local Sheffield Wednesday FC = '' The Owls ''. Has the shop on the penistone road side. Worth a visit. Has for hire venues for weddings etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tafsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Car Boots Site”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love going here on a summer Sunday for the car boot & to have a lovely bacon sarni with a lovely cup of Tetley Tea.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddlyarmySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough Stadium also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Hillsborough Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing