We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, good coffee and genuine”

Marmadukes Cafe Deli
Ranked #74 of 1,429 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, good coffee and genuine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Please please please - if you want a coffee and a snack/light lunch - don't go to the chains - find Marmadukes Cafe Deli. You get really good food and good coffee here - I had a slice of Bakewell (pie or tart, not sure) and it was delicious. This is a genuine place with fresh home-made authentic food - not a plastic/chrome souless waste of space.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    130
    41
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Very very nice food and lively atmosphere... 2 very very slight gripes... 1) no large coffees ... Cups quite small! 2) waiter started clearing table before we had all finished eating... Bad manners!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mbarkworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have been to Marmadukes a few times since it opened and think it's a nice venue with a good location in town. I have never been hugely impressed by the food, but figured that it's worth giving them a few more chances as they are in the early stages. However, after having been treated very badly there today I am sure not to return. Mainly this is because of the service. The venue is still nice and the food still okay (if a bit pricy). But I do not fancy being patronised to my lunch. I had the soup today. White bean, not particularly tasty, but not bad. The bread was very nice. However, it was very little soup and after I'd eaten I wasn't full at all. My partner had not even got his food (sandwich) when I had finished. They had forgotten it and we had to remind them. When his sandwich arrived, I asked if I could get some more soup as I really hadn't got very much. The woman who worked there, I think she might be the manager, then started arguing with me about the portion size. I said don't worry about it, I'm not that bothered, and above all I don't want to argue over lunch. She wouldn't let it go though, and continued talking to me in a very patronising voice, as if expecting me to change my mind about not being full. Why she didn't just give me a bit of bread and spared both of us the embarrassment, I don't know. But I will not be returning to a place that treats me with such disrespect, especially not when the food isn't good enough to make up for it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Sandelind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaky937, Manager at Marmadukes Cafe Deli, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are sorry the customer didn't feel the soup was sufficient, in spite of the fact that it comes with our delicious Welbeck bread. The person, described as the manager, is actually the owner, who has created Marmadukes Cafe Deli to offer good quality, freshly made and prepared food at a reasonable price. (our most expensive dish is less than £9). We could get a big old tin of oxtail soup from a value supermarket and maybe some pappy bread, to fill customers up, but generally we have found our customers appreciate better quality food. Sadly not all all of them. Our soups vary day to day and they are made fresh daily. We take it as a compliment that the unhappy reviewer wanted more. It is worth noting that if the potion was felt to be too small the time to mention it would have been at the start? Soup is also traditionally a starter or for people who aren't too hungry. Marmadukes is full of the friendliest staff you could find. There are lots of regular customers who will happily vouch for that. There is usually a terrific friendly atmosphere, which people enjoy along with the great food. As for the reviewer, hopefully she will soon find somewhere else in the city to eat, which is perhaps more appropriate to her appetite and budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe for Sheffield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Only had a quick coffee visit as yet to Marmadukes, but loved the whole experience. the coffee was fab, the service great and just loved the decor and the maze of little rooms to escape into. The home cooked food and fresh breads looked amazing too - next time I will def be eating! hope they open early evenings soon as planned. Be great for pre-theatre/post-work.
One gripe - please don't assume all your customers want to open a Facebook account!!! Please get a webpage so we can read more about opening times etc. Great to get twitter updates though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A fortunate find for Sally and Brian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

So pleased to have found this cafe on
our first visit to Sheffield in quite a few years and loved the city, it has a great welcoming feel on arriving and has lots of style. We enjoyed our meal so much, the sheperds pie was delicious,the staff really friendly and efficient and the decor of the Cafe Deli is perfect. I wish there were more places like this in our cities. They have done everything just right. We shall come back.
It was a lovely eating experience.
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UKBrianS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmadukes Cafe Deli also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Marmadukes Cafe Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing