We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“used to be better!”
Review of Bloo 88

Bloo 88
Ranked #198 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WELCOME TO BLOO 88, A STUNNINGLY RENOVATED BAR SERVING UP THE FINEST PIZZAS, COCKTAILS, PRIVATE PARTIES AND GOOD TIMES RIGHT IN THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. The formula is simple. Take a stone bake oven, source the finest local ingredients, add in a decade of kitchen experience and you have a selection of the greatest handmade pizzas in town. Accompany them with a side menu of mouth-watering salads, starters and nibbles. Compliment them with the perfect drinks menu. Then, finish it all off with a unique music policy and you have the perfect place to kick back and unwind.
chiang rai
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“used to be better!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

the pizza's are still DELICIOUS however the menu changed a year ago, to a very slightly inferior selection. there also used to be a cask ale at the bar (no longer) & you also could choose ANY pizza's in the 241 option. it's still a great pizza experience though! p.s. bring back the gourmet olive oils!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterpist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    68
    30
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best pizzas, best price”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I regularly come here for a pizza with friends or my partner as it is 2 for 1 all day, every day on really lovely pizzas. They have a great thin base with a crispy crust and lovely fresh ingredients. There are also good drinks offers on happy hour which also applies at weekends (unusual for a city centre bar). They've made a lot of changes over the years including rebranding from Rise@The Hallamshire to bloo88 but I'm glad they seem to have kept the best parts. 2 great large pizzas for a tenner, can't go wrong!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniemanequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chilled out atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Up until this point I had somehow avoided going to Bloo88, the new pizza bar on west street and I was impressed on my first visit.

Popped in for a friend's 21st birthday and was impressed by the incredibly friendly bar staff and quirky feel to the place.

I very much prefer Bloo88 to some of the other west street bars, which are focussed on getting as many people packed in and buying alcohol. Bloo88 is a much more chilled and has some fantastic cocktails and equally as tasty pizzas too!

The only gripe might be the prices are marginally more expensive than some of the other bars on the street, but if you bring a friend most, if not all of the items are 2 for 1, so gripe no longer- just get some friends!

Quality pizzas, Quality drinks and a pleasant place to be!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to Chicago”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Growing up in Chicago I have become a pizza snob. We bought a Groupon to try Bloo88 a year ago and have been going back ever since. The pizzas,salads and cocktails are amazing! Fresh ingredients and 2 for one classic pizzas every day are a fabulous value. Everyone should try what a real, fresh handcrafted pizza should taste like!
The coctails are also very creative and sooooooooooo tasty, very moreish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved our first visit to bloo 88 Amelia was so lovely and made us some lovely cocktails whilst josh looked so handsome in the background xxx we'll definitely come again xxx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mouldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloo 88 also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bloo 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing