We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth bothering”

Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #433 of 1,520 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: French, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Little Mesters Sheffield is located in the heart of Kelham Island, Little Mesters offers seasonal, locally sourced, freshly made food. We are proud to be working in partnership with Sheffield Museums Industrial Trust to bring Sheffield a cafe & bistro with a difference. We have an exciting fresh cafe menu serving everything from freshly brewed coffee and cakes to our fabulous home made burgers and traditional Sunday lunches. Our bistro nights bring fine dining to Kelham Island, with an ever changing seasonal menu to tantaslise your tastebuds. We also offer the perfect setting for your private event, whether it be a children's party, wedding or business meeting. Little Mesters also offer an outside catering service so if your looking for an outside caterer to cater for your event at an alternative venue then look no further. From buffets to BBQ's. Hog Roasts to a la carte fine dining, we have a menu to suit every type of event.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hard to find. Food isn't good, choice is even worse. Even on the groupon deal we bought, we felt ripped off by the poor quality. Meat was cheap cuts and full of fat. Starter options were few and poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kirstylouisechapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We are a bistro that has a menu of 4 starters 4 mains 4 desserts as advertised on Groupon when you booked your deal. if you would prefer a large menu then you should go to a beefeater and not a restaurant. We serve quality meat that is sourced from our own butchers at the Schoolrooms and we do not ever serve cheap cuts maybe you shop at supermarkets and buy quality meat products from eastern Europe unlike our local cattle,Lamb and poultry from local farmers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro is built into the outbuildings of the Kelham Island Museum.
We visited the museum and popped in to the cafe at lunchtime and tried their sharing Sheffield Ploughman's. It was really good. Lots of home made pickles, Scotch egg, pork pie, fresh baked bread and quality cheese. Plenty for two and good value too.
We have booked a Sunday lunch and hope to try their bistro nights which are receiving good reviews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We bought a living social voucher & were excited to go to little mesters for the first time. On arrival it felt like we has entered a greasy spoon cafe. The dark wood tables&chairs were not inviting & the waitress & waiter looked as though they didn't want to be there! After being seated for over 10 mins (it wasn't busy!) we were asked what we'd like...not asked afar drinks-it all felt a bit awkward! After ordering our starters came. Delicious! My husband & I ate it all!!!! Then after a long wait, 2 Yorkshire puddings arrived & were placed to the side as if something else (what we thought was our main course) was due! The waiter said nothing to us as he brought it which we assumed meant our roast beef was in it's way...so we waited. We waited 15 minutes (&by this time we were confused about what was happening!) the waiter cans back and says, "not bothered about pudding then?!" My husband responded by saying we really wanted to eat them but thought they were a side to our main so we had waited. The waiter went on to say "it's a yorkshire tradition" & but much else. My husband gave him
Some feedback about talking to customers to explain / guide them through the meal as we aren't from yorkshire & have never heard of this...& the waiter had not communicated this to us!!! He took it away and our mains came. They were absolutely delicious, however by this point we were too frustrated with our previous experience! We wanted to leave quickly so said to the waiter that we wanted to show our voucher code. He asked to take my phone away to write the code down!!!! No!!! You never do this! I refused and had to leave as I was so angry and aggravated at the terrible service!!!! My husband asked the waiter to bring some paper to write the code down and left. I felt stressed in little mesters when we had hoped to find a new quirky bistro/cafe. Instead the service lets the WHOLE place down when you have such an opportunity there! You gave an amazing chef but even the quality of the food will not make us return!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bettinshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

First time to the Little Mesters Bistro having bought a voucher from the living social website. A bit foolishly, we booked the same day as the Sheffield half marathon and although we arrived about 20 minutes late, it wasn't a problem. Food was nice (1 x Sunday Lunch and 1 x veggie option) and drink prices were on a par with similar venues. Would recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OffTheFence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Four of us went on a groupon deal and were pleasantly surprised. I am a veggie and my meal was very good. The three meat eaters were delighted with theirs especially the steaks which my fussy husband rated as excellent and beautifully cooked. A small but imaginative menu! The service was good and we had a really pleasant evening.
A couple of minor gripes! a bread basket would have been welcome with the starters and the bottle of white wine was served without a chiller but was provided when asked for. I realise it is a part of the museum and the toilet facilities are a problem there was just one toilet which was a disabled facility, the large bin for used paper towels were overflowing all over the floor.
The standard of food more than makes up for the minor hic ups and we will certainly return Well done to the chef you certainly impressed us!...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheffieldBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing