We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good service”

Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #399 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: French, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Little Mesters Sheffield is located in the heart of Kelham Island, Little Mesters offers seasonal, locally sourced, freshly made food. We are proud to be working in partnership with Sheffield Museums Industrial Trust to bring Sheffield a cafe & bistro with a difference. We have an exciting fresh cafe menu serving everything from freshly brewed coffee and cakes to our fabulous home made burgers and traditional Sunday lunches. Our bistro nights bring fine dining to Kelham Island, with an ever changing seasonal menu to tantaslise your tastebuds. We also offer the perfect setting for your private event, whether it be a children's party, wedding or business meeting. Little Mesters also offer an outside catering service so if your looking for an outside caterer to cater for your event at an alternative venue then look no further. From buffets to BBQ's. Hog Roasts to a la carte fine dining, we have a menu to suit every type of event.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
195 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch today with my husband and son. Quirky restaurant which is within the museum- interesting art which my son really enjoyed. Got seated quickly and food and drinks also speedy! My husband loved the beer and I had the house red which was v nice too, The crayfish starter was nice but nothing outstanding and the smoked salmon sandwich with it was a bit odd but pleasant enough! Yorkshire pudding course was yummy, I had mine re heated abit as I do love piping hot food but my husband and son thought there's were great! Tasted lovely and staff very helpful with my request! Dinner itself was really nice the beef was cooked how we like it and a nice array of veg with it! Well worth the price and we certainly will be back! Next time I want to try the cheese board which looked fab but we were to full! Staff v pleasant and overall a good experience - would certainly recommend this place!!
Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank PMDBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Little Mesters, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again in future.

Best Wishes

Nicola & David Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    17
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our fave place....”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Little Mesters 7 times now. We went on Saturday for the bistro evening and I had scallops then duck. My other half had proscuitto and rib eye steak. Both meals were gorgeous. The service is always fantastic. We werent rushed and it was very relaxing. Gentle music playing in the background. Mmmmm we had lavender creme brulee for afters. Something I wouldnt have ordered ordinarily but it was scrummy. Goats cheese truffle was yummy too. All in all a fab evening. Cant wait to go back in December for our sunday lunch then again for the Christmas menu.

Well done Nicola and David!

Debz and Mark xx

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Debbie & Marc

Thank you for taking the time to review Little Mesters again!! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and will look forward to seeing you at the Christmas Bistro night in a couple of weeks.

Best Wishes

Nicola & David Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

A little tricky to find but a lovely warm space on a really cold day.
The salmon salad I had was stunning and a generous portion.
Yorkshire pudding course was a surprise, presented as it used to be in years gone by, separately!
A bit of a wait for our main course but a good plateful with 3 fresh vegetables and thick slices of pork loin. The pork was disappointingly bland but otherwise a lovely meal and very filling, we couldn't manage puddings.

Helpful?
Thank kismet67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Little Mesters, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again in future.

Best Wishes

Nicola & David Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Disapointing.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were looking forward to Sunday lunch but were very disappointed with the food. The service was fine and we were seated straight away, but the food was very average. The wild mushroom bruscheta was tasteless and the bread was average french bread and not ciabatta as expected.
The main course also failed to impress, the yorkshire pudding was tough and tasteless and the beef was very chewy. My husbands pork wasn't any better. The veg were bland and colourless.
Just glad we were not paying full price as the £13 deal we felt was too much for the quality .
We noticed others were sending meals back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyannie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Madam,


Really sorry that you did not have a good experience with us yesterday, If you had mentioned any of you comments to the front of house staff then we could have reacted on the day to your comments rather than via trip advisor.

I can honestly say that your comment regarding food coming back into the kitchen is totally untrue as I was on service yesterday and no negative comments came back to the kitchen and certainly no food came back.

if you believe that £7.50 per head for a 2 course Sunday lunch is too much then I am really sorry but as you will see from the majority of reviews our quality very good and well worth paying full price for.

Best Regards


David and Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A sunday treat!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A great sunday lunch experience using a deal monster voucher, A quirky ,unusual place that needs to be discovered, although not posh it feels like a treat. Four of us got seated quickly, service was good and the food even better. The cray fish starter was very tasty and plenty of it, my husband said it was the best pork he could remember having. Yorkshire pudding and onion gravy as a prelude to the main course was an unexpected bonus and the horseradish sauce tasted homemade!
We left without desert, very full and vowed we would come again, with, or without a voucher!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Rachel

Thank you for taking the time to review Little Mesters, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and your lunch and hope to welcome you back again in future.

Best Wishes

Nicola & David Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing