We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch”

Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #389 of 1,430 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Little Mesters Sheffield is located in the heart of Kelham Island, Little Mesters offers seasonal, locally sourced, freshly made food. We are proud to be working in partnership with Sheffield Museums Industrial Trust to bring Sheffield a cafe & bistro with a difference. We have an exciting fresh cafe menu serving everything from freshly brewed coffee and cakes to our fabulous home made burgers and traditional Sunday lunches. Our bistro nights bring fine dining to Kelham Island, with an ever changing seasonal menu to tantaslise your tastebuds. We also offer the perfect setting for your private event, whether it be a children's party, wedding or business meeting. Little Mesters also offer an outside catering service so if your looking for an outside caterer to cater for your event at an alternative venue then look no further. From buffets to BBQ's. Hog Roasts to a la carte fine dining, we have a menu to suit every type of event.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have eaten before on a Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed the meal and atmosphere. Therefore with friends, 7 of us turned up to eat on a Sunday. Drinks and food orders were taken quickly and one thing that is a good move by the oweners was to forget trying to serve real ale through a pump and have a selection of bottled real ale, much easier to manage. Starters were good, Duck Egg, Soup, Ribs - nice selection and very tasty. Yorkshire pudding followed and then the mains. The meat was good both the pork and beef, what a welcome change to be served with thick slices of pink beef, with a lovely flavour. Lots of fresh hot veg, and extra gravy that we asked for was brought promptly. The staff are spot on and polite, the Chef/owner was working his socks off and was also serving food. In summary, the concept is good, the variety of different dishes is super, and the service along with the food is very good - nice quirky setting also. Always nice to support a very good local restaurant. We will continue to dine there and I hope it goes from strength to strength. Angela, John & Elysia x.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear John

thank you for taking the time to review Little Mesters, although I assume from your comments your visit was some time ago. I am pleased you enjoyed your dining experience and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes


Nicola & David Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    17
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Bistro Night with a Groupon voucher but even without the voucher this would still have been excellent value for money as the food was superb. I opted for scallops, duck (both cooked beautifully) and creme brulee whilst other half went for portuguese spicy soup, sea bass and cheese board. All delicious. Wine was good and very reasonable and the room has a nice ambience. There was a bit of a gap between us finishing the starters and the mains coming but this was understandable when the starters were served at super-fast speed within minutes of ordering so can't complain. The service was excellent with friendly but not intrusive staff.
Overall a lovely meal - we would highly recommend and look forward to another visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Clare

thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor and thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A superb experience all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Bought a 'Bistro Night' voucher from Groupon and got a very good deal. However, I must say we would happily have paid full price for such an excellent meal! There was a good choice offered for all 3 courses and the food was absolutely delicious - no doubt about it. The presentation was perfect and the time being served between courses was just right. Despite the place being full we didn't feel either rushed nor neglected. Bottle of house wine at a reasonable price and a good pint of local beer available as well. The staff were lovely, attentive and couldn't have been nicer. In addition to the eating experience the setting - in the museum building itself - is both unusual and very appealing. Finally, wonderful ambience and we will definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishbyProxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments about your dining experience on Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you found the evening an enjoyable one and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Little Mesters in the near future.

Best Wishes

Nicola & David Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friday Evening by candle light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The weather outside was foul, dark raining and windy, but inside was welcoming , cosy with subdued lighting.
This is our first evening event at the Little Mester and well worth it.
The tables were set out mainly in pairs with white clothes and neat cutlery .
The wine menu was offered first, followed by the multiple choice food menu. For the first time every after so much on the TV I chose scallops on mushroom with a cauliflower purée. Although the mushrooms were watery the first course was very pleasant. For main I ordered Duck breast with a rhubarb purée and what appeared to be a lot of various nuts( walnuts etc). Sue chose sea bass. Both mains were excellent taste wise and presentation. One thing I liked was that the waiter wore gloves when serving. A small but interesting note.
For sweet I stuck with cheese, boring you might say but tasty.

Overall the evening was great only affected by an ignorant group of four who knew someone else in the restaurant and proceeded to chat with the whilst hovering over our table. Some people.

We will be going against and I easily recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vintind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Vintin

Thank you for taking the time to review Little Mesters and for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening and can only apologise for any inconvenience caused by other diners. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Little Mesters in the near future.

Best Wishes

Nicola & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Birthday Bash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Although they don't normally open on Wednesday evenings Little Mesters took our booking for 12 people. We had visited once before and enjoyed it so much we decided to return for my birthday celebration. It was just as enjoyable second time round. Everyone commented on the good choice of menu and the quality of the food and service which was so friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is on the Kelham Island complex.
It can be tricky to find if you are not sure where you are going and such a pity that the city council won't allow them to put any directional information anywhere other than on museum property.
An unfortunate and short sighted decision when nationally the government is trying to encourage new businesses to thrive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john11146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing