We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe at Kelham Island”

Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #390 of 1,434 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Little Mesters Sheffield is located in the heart of Kelham Island, Little Mesters offers seasonal, locally sourced, freshly made food. We are proud to be working in partnership with Sheffield Museums Industrial Trust to bring Sheffield a cafe & bistro with a difference. We have an exciting fresh cafe menu serving everything from freshly brewed coffee and cakes to our fabulous home made burgers and traditional Sunday lunches. Our bistro nights bring fine dining to Kelham Island, with an ever changing seasonal menu to tantaslise your tastebuds. We also offer the perfect setting for your private event, whether it be a children's party, wedding or business meeting. Little Mesters also offer an outside catering service so if your looking for an outside caterer to cater for your event at an alternative venue then look no further. From buffets to BBQ's. Hog Roasts to a la carte fine dining, we have a menu to suit every type of event.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cafe at Kelham Island”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had Dinner here. Fish n Chips. served on slate plates. very good meal. big pot of tea which is my thumbs up every time for any place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tafsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Little Mesters, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Best Wishes

Nicola & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    17
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice food - sun 28th july visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

lovely nostalgic atmosphere in this bistro which I doubt I would have found without directions. lovely hot food and like the idea of the Yorkshire puddings before the roast. staff OK but not that attentive and I would have liked more gravy and sauces perhaps but staff were busy and never quite could catch them. overall enjoyed the food thanks - little mesters

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lisa,


Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent visit to Little Mesters, As you rightly state we are quite difficult to find as we are in the heart of the Museum. we are at this moment sourcing new signage to help all our clients find us. Regarding the waiting staff we are really sorry that you could not grab their attention as we pride ourselves on customer service. We hope that it has not put you off revisiting Little Mesters in the future.

Best Regards


David and Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy little gem of a bistro”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ate a lovely Sunday lunch here complete with starters, full roast and even your Yorkshire puds separate as an appetiser. Perfect. Couldn't fault the staff,they were welcoming and ultra professional. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Antandmags,

Many thanks for your very Kind comments We all pride ourselves on standards of food and service and really appreciate it when our clients appreciate the fact. We look forward to welcoming you back to Little Mesters in the near future.


Best Regards


David and Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice cafe, if a little tucked away”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited this afternoon for sunday lunch with a Living Social voucher, and found ourselves wandering about a bit at first until realised that we had been to the cafe before! Just for a cup of tea at the forties weekend last year, and we hasn't realised they did more than cakes. The soup and crayfish were nice, and the roast was serves in two parts with yorkshire puddings bought out first. The meat and the gravy with the yorkshires were lovely, the vegetables left a little to be desired as not too fresh, but we did go in about 3pm, so would have been earlier. Not really a restaurant, but a nice cafe with pleasant staff who are friendly. Didn't have a cake, but they looked large and homemade. Will be back for more tea and a slice of cake next time. Would need a fair bit of work to turn it into a restaurany, especially now there are so many other more visable cafes, bars and restaurants in Kelham Island now.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your Visit to Little Mesters. We are really sorry that your Veg seemed over done it is irrelevant as to what time you arrive with us this should never be the case, If you had mentioned this to the waiting staff then this would have been changed immediately.
You are quite correct regarding the cakes as everything is made on site so that you for noticing. Regarding your comments about being a restaurant, We are a cafe by day and then turn the cafe into a very elegant restaurant for our evening Bistros. As you can see from all the comments we are very proud that Little Mesters is the best eatery within the Kelham Island area.


Best Regards


David and Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Down to earth, the vegetable burger was the best we have ever had. Large portions. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank diaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments,

We do pride ourselves on quality food and service so it is much appreciated when our clients recognise this.


Best Regards

David and Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing