We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch”

Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #399 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: French, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Little Mesters Sheffield is located in the heart of Kelham Island, Little Mesters offers seasonal, locally sourced, freshly made food. We are proud to be working in partnership with Sheffield Museums Industrial Trust to bring Sheffield a cafe & bistro with a difference. We have an exciting fresh cafe menu serving everything from freshly brewed coffee and cakes to our fabulous home made burgers and traditional Sunday lunches. Our bistro nights bring fine dining to Kelham Island, with an ever changing seasonal menu to tantaslise your tastebuds. We also offer the perfect setting for your private event, whether it be a children's party, wedding or business meeting. Little Mesters also offer an outside catering service so if your looking for an outside caterer to cater for your event at an alternative venue then look no further. From buffets to BBQ's. Hog Roasts to a la carte fine dining, we have a menu to suit every type of event.
Ripon North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thank you to the staff and chef for ending our visit to Sheffield perfect. Had a look at he museum which was great and then a perfect Sunday lunch. The beef was delicious as was the gravy. You have a little gem of a bistro and your staff are very welcoming and courteous. Very reasonable priced as well. Thanks agin
Dot and John from Ripon North Yorkshire

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank binki1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed both your food and your visit to the museum. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards

David & Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    17
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a private function”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked Little Mesters for our staff Christmas party of 40 people. People who had never been to this little gem of a venue were really pleased to find a cosy, welcoming, Christmas themed room, which was perfect for our event.
The restaurant is tucked out of the way so there were no interruptions, or people trying to gate crash our event as we have experienced in the past when using a city centre location.
The staff were welcoming and friendly, and attentive at the tables, and the food was very pleasant.
I will be visiting the venue again for a meal myself, and other staff members have said the same. Thank you Nicola and team!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Kate,

Thank you for your review.

Really glad that you all had a great time at Little Mesters. Be great to see you and you colleagues in the new year. wishing you all a merry Christmas.

Best regards


David and Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Internet Menu looked great, actual experience a disappointment.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went as a group of 4, and were really looking forward to a pleasant evening with good food and great company. The company proved to be first rate, unfortunately, the food proved to be third rate. The table layout was odd - as the seating was arranged at the short end's of two tables, not across the long edge. So my friend and I were a long way from our husbands, and when the wine and bread was put in the middle of the table, we had to really stretch to reach it! The menu was rubbish compared to the internet menu - either it had been changed, or the internet menu is a tempter to get people in.

The food was mediocre to say the least, and as an overall experience, we were not impressed. You go out for a meal to experience what you can't recreate at home, well we can do much better than this place. We have contacted the establishment via email however, they haven't had the decency to respond, so this is one place we certainly won't go back to, and whilst I never like to be negative about anywhere, there really isn't much to be said in it's favour.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good Afternoon Angela, thank you for your review. We are actually away on honeymoon at the moment but have looked over our emails and can't see an email from you as we are always answer any that come through.

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience at Little Mesters. Our menu is changed monthly to take advantage of the freshest local ingredients. We fully take on board your comments about the tables- this shouldn't have been the case and so this will be addressed.

With regards your comments about food we would really appreciate you resending your email with details of when you ate with us so that any individual comments about the menu can be addressed with our chefs and staff on duty.

Best Regards

David & Nicola Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“BEST BISTRO IN SHEFFIELD”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Lovely little find since moving to the area. Quality ingredients and precisely cooked meats. Attentive service without being overbearing. Excellent all round.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_spudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your review of Little Mesters we hope to see you here again soon.


Best Regards


David and Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Timing, quality and value issues”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After reading the previous reviews we made a special visit to the cafe for Sunday brunch and very disappointed. Ordering 2 full breakfasts and a croissant for our young daughter we were left waiting 40 minutes after ordering before we had to ask for the croissant to be provided as our daughter was getting very upset (no doubt due to hunger). Was it any coincidence that the young girl serving disappeared for 15 minutes, leaving the shop floor completely deserted of staff in the process, arriving back at the cafe with a bag of goods from the local convenience store in hand?
When the breakfasts came they were nothing more than average at the best and considerably small in proportion, however when you take in to account that it is £6.50 for the breakfast, £1 extra for toast and "butter" and £1.75 for a (single bag) tea or coffee this makes it £9.25 for an average breakfast when many cafes offer the same meal, with toast and drink included, to a much better standard for £5 this demonstrates the poor value on offer here.........and certainly not worth waiting the best part of an hour for. Finally, seemingly minor, but significant indicator here is that the menu states you are paying for butter with your additional costed toast (and an additional cost to add to your "plain croissant") and they actually server you low quality margarine. I enquired on this point and was met with caginess and attitude, which is not only rude but a trade description issue I am sure. Don't bother going here unless you enjoy mediocrity and being ripped off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumble_Fish_3672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemesters, Owner at Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Good morning sir/madam

Firstly thank you for your comments however I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

If I may take your points in order,

All of our menu is cooked fresh to order and an average wait for a breakfast is about 15 mins also with the croissant again these are cooked fresh to order.
For the staff member to go missing for 15 mins i take your comments on board.

Your comments regarding the quality of the breakfast is very surprising as the quality of the produce that we purchase is all locally sourced from very reputable suppliers. The price that we charge represents the standard of produce that we serve. I agree that you can buy cheaper elsewhere however the standard of food will represents this. Our toast is 50p for 2 slices of quality bread not the sliced bread that you would be served with a cheaper breakfast offer.

The butter that we use is Real salted butter when served with croissant and toast not margarine as have stated

Tea is £1.75 per serving if you would have liked it stronger then we could have done this if you would have asked.


I have spoken both with the chef and the cafe assistant regarding your comments. If you would like to give us a call so that we can go through your comments further then please feel free to do so


Best Regards

David and Nicola



David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Mesters Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing