We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening”
Review of Turkuaz Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Turkuaz Bar & Grill
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Turkuaz Bar & Grill is a welcoming open plan restaurant, serving traditional Turkish meals cooked on an open grill. It also boasts a separate bar/lounge area with 2 pool tables, football table, bandits, a big screen TV and upstairs smoking area.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Turkuaz for my birthday and made up quite a large party. Often trying to organise such things is a bit of a nightmare, but from my initial enquiry, to the actual evening, the staff were fantastic and made the whole process hassle free. Upon arrival, the table was decorated and the staff were courteous but not overbearing. The atmosphere was superb and the belly dancer added to the entertainment without it seeming cheap and tacky. Out of a group of 27, not one person had a poor meal and many friends commented that they would love to come again. I would fully recommend Turkuaz as they provided a wonderful evening for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RachelWSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your party at Turkuaz. We are developing a new booking system for large parties to help you and the night go smoothly. This will also help with separate bills at the end of the night.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I booked this restaurant for a Saturday night (05/01/13), and were pleased to have been allocated a large table by the window. The restaurant is located on the 1st floor, above a 24-hour international supermarket but don't let this put you off, as it is not really an issue. The staff were attentive but not overbearing. The manager, Huseyin, floats around the restaurant, taking orders when the other waitresses are busy, and is friendly and available if you need him. There is an open style kitchen, and the food we ordered arrived promptly and was good quality. The restaurant was very busy, with at least 4 birthday parties, including one table of 24 diners. Luckily, we ordered before this table, as their order took a lot longer to arrive, as you might expect. We were entertained by a Turkish belly dancer, and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant was excellent. We left after 2 hours, having thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The bill came to only £46, including 2 starters + 2 mains, a bottle of wine, 1 Turkish coffee, and 2 complimentary sambucas. We were not sure what to expect, as we had not eaten Turkish food before, but were very pleased we chose this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We are so please that you enjoyed your evening. The entrance needs improving and we do have a plan but would be interested in any customer ideas for improvement.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited as a large group (30+) and were dealt with incredibly well. We'd booked most of the food in advance (although adding extras at the time was no trouble) and the girl who dealt with this was a great help - organising who was having what.

We were sat by the grill/kitchen, which is amazing to watch, if a little warm! Food was all excellent, free olives. Service was steady, but we were a huge group so that's to be expected!

The staff were all great, happy, smiling and helpful. I'll agree with others on the decent toilets.

The dancer is great fun, I can see it maybe not working as part of a romantic meal for two - so it's wise that they now mention this when booking.

I certainly look forward to coming again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sibo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thankyou for your review! We are so glad that you chose us for your party and even more pleased that you all enjoyed your evening.
We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Turkish food here was amazing (large chargrill to bbq on as well) and the waiter was extremely friendly and though he was busy and there were a few slip ups (delays, missing meals) he went out of his way to recitify and go over and above what was expected.
Would go back but it was really noisy - it may only be Saturdays but they had a belly dancer and for this period played music louder than a club - we couldn't talk to anyone for about an hour!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WitnessFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thankyou for your review.
We have reduced the belly dancing as a direct result of our customer feedback and only book a dancer if we have large party's who make a special request. we advertise on facebook and our website to let our customers know when a dancer will perform. The dancers usually do 2 x 15 minute sets but again if customer groups ask for more this can be longer. I am sorry we didn't let you know before you chose to dine with us.. I am really pleased that you would choose to eat with us again and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Firstly I must emphasise that this restaurant is spotlessly clean and has the most welcoming staff. My partner even mentioned that the toilets were the cleanest she had seen in a restaurant, with hairspray and toiletries available for use.

Unfortunately the food was mediocre and not authentic, I do feel it is geared up for the local market and doubt you would ever find Turkish people eating here, which would of course be a stamp of approval. The hummus was very poor with no substance, soups mediocre and mains average with very poor salads. This is such a shame as the staff are so friendly.

Despite the high prices I truly believe the only true authentic Turkish restaurant in Sheffield is a few doors down, as this would not be out of place in any Turkish city and the food cooked and presented in the correct way.

I genuinally wish Turkuaz the best for the future and hope they can improve the quality of food as competition can only benefit diners and fans of Turkish food.

1  Thank Noble72Doncaster_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback.
After reading your comments on the food our chef was very dissapointed at your experience.
Our head chef worked at another Turkish restaurant down the road for four years and never recieved any bad reviews in that time. all the staff in the kitchen are Turkish and have worked in hospitality in Turkey and the uk. We can not understand how we got it so wrong for you.
We value all our feedback and would hope that you will return so we can have another opportunity to improve your view.
Our regular customers are 50% english who travel or own 2nd homes in Turkey and North Cyprus the other 50% are made up of Turkish, European and Middle eastern customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkuaz Bar & Grill also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing