We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vampire pizza. The BEST!!”
Review of Franco's Pizzeria - CLOSED

Franco's Pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Postcvode S10 1TF
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Vampire pizza. The BEST!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Francoes is simply unique, from the time you walk through the front door. As in previous messages, Nigel and his dad and brother do a great job. The stuffed pepper to start with followed by my favourite vampire pizza is my idea of heaven.
If you want fresh, quality, reasonably priced food, combined with a friendly environment, were you van bring your own drinks at no corcage prices, then look no further than Francoes.
The deserts are a particular favourite with my family and certainly unique.
Sit by the walls so you can also read the postcards!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“It's a tradition”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My family have been taking me to Franco's for years, and it never gets old!

We go there to celebrate any special event or just for a delicious Friday night meal. The food is amazing and fresh and the desserts are simply divine.

Nigel is pure class. He can memorise a whole tables order and will happily cater your food to your needs. Last time I visited he swapped one meringue with all the trimmings for 3 meringues with whipped cream and chocolate buttons. Best dessert I've ever had.

It's my families guilty pleasure and i know we will be visiting Franco's for many years to come.

Just don't forget to bring your own booze!

Helpful?
Thank MeganInAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“15 years of family fun and dining”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Ignore the one negative review, they obviously don't get it (not everyone does). We were introduced to Franco's as "a find" by friends about 15 years ago. It's special in a way difficult to describe. Having travelled quite extensively 'off the beaten track' in
Italy, this is a typical Italian. Nigel (the waiter) is a class act, the food is always excellent (pancake romana followed by fillet steak, tia maria pancake and an irish coffee) and the atmosphere is always there. If someone new took over the place they would no doubt try to modernise it - and therefore kill it!! Our son who is 21 always wants to go for his birthday. So many good memories with our family and friends in this relaxed place.

Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“gobsmacked”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

came here with a group of friends. The smell of damp and fust was nauseating. we were the only people in there so the waiter never really stopped hovering. food was palatable,
the instant coffee and the after eights just made us giggle and didnt bother with a sweet. honestly we felt like we'd stepped through a time warp. definitely a night we wont forget

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 254anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place, fabulous puddings.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Been eating here for 20 years, it's simple, well cooked, excellent food. And the pudding menu has to be seen to be believed. It's not a fancy restaurant but you'll struggle to find a better cooked steak or a nicer atmosphere

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco's Pizzeria also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing