We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good range of food, rather cramped restaurant”
Review of The Mogul Room

The Mogul Room
Ranked #422 of 1,455 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good range of food, rather cramped restaurant”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went midweek. 4 of us, 1 vegetarian, 1 who would eat fish but not meat. Everyone enjoyed their choice of dishes. I had a chicken dish and it had a very generous portion of sliced chicken breast. Tables slightly small for a group of 4 blokes and restaurant a little cramped, but would visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzmavericksir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    28
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very average, not worth another visit”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a disappointing visit on saturday night. Have been to this restaurant on a few occasions over the years, but don't think I'll be going again. We went as a family of 4 at 8.30pm, the service was good, but my husband and I both ordered the lamb tikka balti - both of which were sent back. The lamb was dry and overcooked, although it seemed good quality, but it had made it very tough and chewy. However the most annoying thing was the music!! It was very loud and it was literally dance club music which ruined the ambience and consequently everyone on all the tables were having to shout to each to hold a conversation!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant we've ever been to.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is without a doubt the best Indian we've ever had and the numerous friends/ family we keep taking there all agree! The service is excellent and the food is always tasty. They're also very good at dealing with special requests and are able to recommended dishes based on what you like. If you want a good Indian Mogul Room is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Squeezed into a shall table, practically sat on top of the people next to us. So wasn't a good start. Starts were ok but nothing out of the ordinary. Then my main course arrived....chicken Tikka masala, well all a can say is I've never seen a blood red masala. It was sickly sweet & I could not eat it. I will defiantly not be re visiting. Far more nice restaurants out there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I went here with some friends and despite being busy and us not booking, they still managed to squeeze us in. We were well looked after, the service was excellent and the food was amazing. Perfect size portions, fresh tasting food and enough for everyone. The service became a little slow towards the end but as we were gossiping amongst ourselves this didn't matter and they were rushed off their feet. Great value for money as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mogul Room also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Mogul Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing