We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent north of england welcome”
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
maderia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent north of england welcome”
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This hotel is a real find , admittedly we were lucky to be given an upgrade, the room was fantastic, spacious and bright. The food was innovative and perfectly cooked,the menu was varied and interesting with something for everyone it was a relaxed quality eating experience. breakfast was outstanding. The hotel was very wellstaffed all friendly and helpful, on the saturday evening the hotel was packed but there was no waiting for service at all ,It was reasonably priced for the quality. All in all an excellent unique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    68
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
92
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Notheast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions with business. Each stay has been very good. The staff are always friendly and the food is always good. They are always happy to accommodate i.e my bacon sandwich to take away every morning.

My 1st choice if staying in this area.

  • Liked — good quality large rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetoshopNotheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
322 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

I must say that with all the incredible reviews on this website I perhaps built my hopes up a little staying at this hotel for a local wedding. We had an executive room which was quite nice. Not in any way luxurious might I say, more nice in a corporate, clean kind of way. Room was quite large and the bathroom decent albeit with a slightly strange bath. We had dinner in the hotel on our first night which was quite good - the service was really sweet and friendly though the food was only average. Breakfast was worse - poor cooked breakfast and not much in the buffet. Overall this place was fine, no complaints at all but thought it was worth writing this review just in case anyone reads the reviews and thinks that this is anything more than just a decent stop-over.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night in an executive room. The room was spacious and luxurious with a lovely bathroom. Everything was in very good condition and extremely clean. The whole hotel gave the impression of being exceptionally well maintained and cared for. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and felt that the food was good value. There was a reasonable choice of dishes. Breakfast was included in the price and was cooked to order and very good indeed. My only slight critcism of the hotel relates to the room we were given which was directly above the bar and so was quite noisy until fairly late into the evening. This wasn't a problem for us as we were staying at the weeked. However, it is something to bear in mind if staying for business during the week.

  • Liked — Overall quality and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross On Wye
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2007

Stayed here twice on business. Location is a bit odd - just a village somehere off the motorway, a fair way out of town. Hotel rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was first-class.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank memberRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Staindrop Classic Hotel. What a find, just back from staying there at the weekend. When we arrived we were upgraded to an Executive Suite, very luxurious, King size bed and a Jaccuzi. Had a meal in the hotel restaurant, food was delicious, could'nt believe we had homemade chips, they were yummy. Breakfast great, cereals, full english breakfast really good choice on the menu.

We were made to feel really welcome. would definately go again. Absolutely top notch.

Jan and Steve Carter
Great Barr, Birmingham.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank roloBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Stayed here for one night in late Jan and it was great.
Super room, well decorated, big, sofa, comfy bed, great bathroom etc etc.
Meal in the restaurant was great in the evening and the freshly cooked breakfast in the morning was superb.
For £67 B&B I would struggle to find better value & have spent double that on hotels of poorer quality.
Only slight downside was the dustbin men arriving at 6am seemingly just outside my window which ruined my plans for a bit of a lie in. Other than that though it ws great and I would recommend it to all.

  • Liked — the quality of the room
  • Disliked — Bin men at 6am
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
1.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
6.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.5 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Property: Staindrop Lodge
Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staindrop Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing