We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room for just £68 with breakfast.”
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here as we were attending my sister-in-law's 50th birthday party at same venue and I think had a very good deal. The hotel from the outside wasn't particularly special but inside was modern and the staff very attentive. We were given a large room that was more like a suite and it included a very nice breakfast. The room was immaculate and very clean with loads of storage space. We also had a lovely and reasonably priced evening meal. Drinks were also reasonable considering we were at a private function. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked a wedding meal here for New Year's Eve ... Despite having a very busy schedule the reception staff were very accommodating and unlike some other places nearby tried to sort us out, when the others were more interested in 'their gala nights'. We were offered a private room, and they decorated the table just as we had asked. On the night the food arrived on time (all at the same time) and despite many different choices all was cooked and presented perfectly. We were well looked after by all the waiting staff on the night, especially one young girl who's name I didn't take but was clearly assigned to us the bride and groom. Amanda made sure our dinner went like clockwork, and happily provided music.. Thank you to all at Staindrop, you are a credit, especially as this was such a busy night for you all..

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Neilrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited in a party of 3 on Sunday 29th December. Very impressed with decor and bar area. Went through to the brasserie and was seated in a comfortable area. Ordered food and was told the soup was Leek & Potato but when it arrived it was tomato which luckily we liked. Main courses were lovely and good sized portions. I spotted Eton Mess on the dessert menu so that had to be ordered, unfortunately when it arrived there was no meringue in it at all, it was purely cream and fruit. The Front of House team were all very young but service was pretty efficient just lacked a bit of finesse at times.

The bill was very reasonable for the food we received and the setting we ate in.

Overall, our experience was a pleasant one and we would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

On entering the hotel, we easily found the bar and ante-room. The bar staff served us quickly and we were able to wait for our dinner that was booked for 13.30 on Sunday, 15th December 2013. Everything was ready for us punctually and the waitresses were very friendly and helpful. The food was well cooked and presented in the usual way. The meal was delicious and the choice of vegetables and meats was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend the Staindrop Lodge Hotel to anyone. We were more than satisfied with the whole experience. Hope this venue will be used again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just stayed there and what a treat it was from arriving to leaving you are made to feel special nothing is too much the room was stunning the breakfast was great and the lady that served breakfast on Saturday was exceptionally good she is a credit to your hotel the only downfall was the flat lager we had to go onto bottles I think it was either the gas or the glasses because we tried 2 different lagers

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here in September with some of our family from Canada, we all had a very pleasant stay, rooms were very roomy, and very reasonable, our daughter, husband and 2 boys had two adjoining rooms and they ony charged her 5 pounds more than a double room, the bar and brassier is excellent, we had a family get togeher here and it was very good, food was good and good priced drinks.
Breakfast is incuded in the room, it was excellent and Carmen who did the breakfast shift was fabulous, really went out of her way to make us feel at home, nothing was to much trouble.
The rooms were veryclean and beds were very comfortable, we have stayed here a few times and will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

i arranged a wkend away for just me and the husband and from the moment searching for a hotel and finding this gem everything was fab from the lady who booked the room (we had standard double anything but standard though) for me over the phone helping me choose and to checking in and out the staff are so friendly and help you with anything you need and the rooms are big very clean and comfy we stayed over the reception side so it would be quieter as there was a function on and did not hear a thing , we didnt try the breakfast so cant comment but i cant imagine that being any different to the standards of the staff , we will definitely be staying here again and maybe in an executive suite next time and maybe a trip with children too as when we checked out the receptionist was so helpful as we are a family of 5 we do struggle but this hotel can accomodate us which is great !! thank you for a great stay hope to be back very soon !!!

Room Tip: always phone direct for better deals staff will go out of there way to help , ask if function on if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kja1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,067 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
13.3 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $68 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staindrop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing