We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great comedy night and yummy tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great comedy night and yummy tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Took a couple of friends to the comedy night and throughly enjoyed it. Had a selection of tapas dishes beforehand which were delicious and I would nightly recommend. I have visited this hotel for bar meals, Christmas meals, birthday meals and my own wedding, The food and staff are just first class every time,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfdickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    65
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
91
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Staindrop Lodge is an excellent quality hotel.
I use it every month, so I know what I am talking about. Trust me.

Not pretentious or so, just, it delivers! (does what it says on the tin)
The Q/P ratio is very good and the rooms are OK.
This is not a luxurious place, if you want that, look elsewhere. But the service on offer is way beyond what you may ever expect from a hotel !!! (Whatever its rating).

So:
Friendly staff
Excellent food
Large rooms
Style in an ancient mansion, a lot of character to the place
Parking space (free) with camera's on guard
.. and Price is in line with the standing and actually good (good Q/P ratio)

I am a regular here, so I have seen it all, but these people are really OK. They will never let you down. They will do their utmost to be of service to you.
A highly recommended Hotel.

NB: if you ask nicely they may show you the cellar where they keep the wine, under the old part of the building.
NB: there is an old part of the building and a new part. Both have their advantages.

Room Tip: If you want the best possible reception in WiFi you probably prefer the new part of the building. Or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marnixgroet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visit for a family reunion. Rooms were fantastic and the staff very friendly. A great to stay with children. Restaurant had delicious food for a very reasonable price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Views over town from rooms and many sightings of resident squirrels.

Room Tip: We had 3 joining rooms great for a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
490 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed for a few days in this lovely hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was varied, reasonably priced and delicious (you may need to book Friday's as it gets busy). The Tapas menus are certainly worth a look at! Breakfasts are cooked fresh and the staff are happy to accommodate variations on the menu e.g. Vegetarian. The room, on the second floor was spacious, clean and decorated well (Art Deco style). Overall, a very comfortable stay (I slept like a log) and good vale for money. Thank you to all the staff at the Staindrop for making it such a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Got married here three years ago, the hotel staff were incredible. The hotel catered for 90 guests for a sit down meal and 150 for a buffet night reception. The food was delicious with our guests commenting on it being the best wedding breakfast they have ever had. We have since celebrated birthdays, mothers and father days there agin with the food being served outstanding. We recently attended the comedy night and it was excellent. This place is definitely worth a visit, from weddings to a bar meal you will thoroughly enjoy it.

Room Tip: Bedrooms are large, request the room with the jacuzzi for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal here. There was a group of us, 10. We all ordered the tapas menu. It was excellent. We all ordered at the same time and we were all served at the same time. The food was hot and very tasty. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is the second time we have eaten here in the last few weeks and it has been fantastic,
This time there was 10 of us and we had the tapas menu,This was very nice indeed and will go
back as soon as we can,
Keep it up its great

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
6.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Property: Staindrop Lodge
Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staindrop Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing