We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fairly late review!”
Review of Mud Crab Diner

Mud Crab Diner
Ranked #334 of 1,440 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: American, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.mudcrabdiner.co.uk/
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fairly late review!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went to the mud crab for a friend's birthday back in January, there was quite a large group of us and staff were very accomodating and friendly. Food is lovely, good quality and fresh, if a tiny bit over priced but you definitely pay for the atmoshere as well as the food

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    178
    92
    50
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Had burgers which were lovely but not very hot. Tasted gorgeous though. Good service, nice atmosphere will definitely return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but maybe not for a dinner date”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Came with my boyfriend for dinner for two, great atmosphere and the place was buzzing and busy with a lovely bar, however when we were seated we felt we had to yell to hear each other, with it being a lovely day it seemed lots of people had come from drinks/park so was very loud! The waiting staff were all lovely but very busy. The food was good, upmarket diner, plenty of great choices but felt a little rushed and would have wanted a bit more for my money with my prawn skewers, other shame was with the wine as there was only 1 rose on the menu which really wasn't great. Over all a lively place with hearty food which would be ace with a group of mates but not awesome for a dinner for two! Would also love to try the breakfast menu which looks amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly service - great coffee - creative nachos!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a light bite as a family. Attended to straight away- good atmosphere (reminded us if the restaurants we used to go to in London). Coffee was lovely (if a little small - but at a reasonable price so just had 2). Sharing Nachos with chilli were very tasty and not your usual nachos 'mush' that you sometimes get at other restaurants. Although they say they aren't a children's restaurant, the waiter was great with our kids and very friendly. Will definitely be going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikerutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing Birthday experience!!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I went to the mud crab for just a meal with friends and loved it from then I saw the cocktail menu and decided to enquire about cocktail making experience for my birthday they said they didn't do one but because I was very interested and becauae they also had other enquiries about the cocktail party idea they said they would use me as a guinea pig and put on an amazing experience!!! The price was brilliant we had our own bar tender (he was brilliant and new lots about the background of the cocktails we made) we were in our own area made to feel very special (which was good since it was for my birthday) and we made some brilliant cocktails. Food after was a very good standard and service amazing - I would like to thank Adrian and Phil for letting my party be the first of what I hope will be a permanent thing at the Mud Crab and thank you to Todd as he really was patient and knowledgeable and made the experience what it was - AMAZING!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraJane28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mud Crab Diner also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Mud Crab Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing