We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papa Ciccios

Papa Ciccios
Ranked #201 of 1,429 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Goats cheese, ribs and mozzarella starters, after garlic bread thinking time. Chicken dishes are always excellent, though there is always fish specials, steaks, pasta etc. food is always consistent, delicious and good portions. Take your own wine makes it a more reasonable night for cost - so great combination. Excellent staff always friendly. Been going for years and would strongly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    26
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good little Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Papa Ciccios is a very traditional style Italian, it's cozy and the decor is a thing to behold! It's not fancy but the food is good and the service is excellent. BYO wine, beer and spirits which makes a massive difference to the bill! The majority of our visits have been on a Sunday which can sometimes be a bit quiet. The cheese and tomato garlic bread is excellent, the lasagne very good and the steaks are huge!

They don't take cards, only cash but there's a cash point a few doors down if you forget.

Overall a nice friendly little place with good food.

Helpful?
6 Thank Trixy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This is our regular Italian - the meals are so fresh and tasty. There is a specials board or the regular menu - either is good food. The decor hasn't changed for a long time but it adds to the atmosphere. Bring your own bottle of wine & pay £1.50 corkage - cash or cheques, no credit card.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Molto Bello!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great little authentic Italian restaurant, service is outstanding, food is excellent, very welcoming and family friendly. Will definitely go Back again and again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank CatSt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

When I say cosy, I mean they squeeze in as many people as possible in the space available, but, having said that, it is still comfortable with a good atmosphere. There is an extensive and enticing menu and I really did find it difficult to decide what to have. I opted for a grilled goat's cheese starter with a lasagne for main. I really liked the look of the fish dishes and was very tempted but opted for the lasagne as it is, after all, Italian. The grilled goat's cheese was like angels dancing on the tongue and was of generous size. The lasagne was far from ordinary and very enjoyable. The staff were all pleasant and very attentive whilst at the same time remaining unobtrusive. This is the first time (as far as I know) I have ever been in a restaurant where you can bring your own wine and I found it all a very pleasing experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jossman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Ciccios also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Papa Ciccios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing