We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly reasonable”
Review of The Garrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Garrison Hotel
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We stayed for one night in a double ground floor room in the courtyard area. Good prompt service on arrival check in staff friendly and efficient. I would also say that the rest of the staff that we came into contact were also friendly. Car park is small although further spaces at the rear of premises. It has been well documented that the walls are thin and the floor boards creak, but that would be our only minor criticism. The room was very clean and warm, yes the curtains needed to be drawn, for a bit of privacy. Bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was enjoyable and was a good start to our day. Would we go there again? Yes.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 509 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2008

Although the hotel was clean both inside and out, I would never stay there again. My major complaint was the noise throughout the night, finishing off at 05.00 when the hotel receptionist decided to clean the lobby floor with a vacuum cleaner. When combined with wafer thin walls and loose floorboards, a distrubed nights sleep is almost guaranteed.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushwacker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

I've stayed at the Garrison a couple of times now and it's an adequate hotel but it won't set your world on fire. It's located just out of the city centre near a supermarket. So not the most glamourous of locations, but it is easy to find and accessible both by car and public transport.

It's looks a bit like a US style motel as the rooms all open directly outside, either on the ground floor or balconies. As other reviewers have noted, you do need to keep your curtains drawn to ensure privacy and the soundproofing between rooms isn't great. However, the rooms themselves are what you'd expect for the price - basic but comfortable and clean. The locks on the doors are a law unto themselves and the hotel really should replace them because it can be very difficult to gain access to your room.

The staff are pleasant, courteous and efficient.

There is a bar and restaurant at the hotel which is ok but nothing to get excited about. My advice would be to either take a short walk to one of the local pubs/restaurants for food, or take the tram into Sheffield centre if you're going out at night.

This isn't the hotel to stay at if you're wanting to indulge yourself but it is perfectly acceptable for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband & I just needed a 1 night stop over in Sheffield when visiting my brother at Uni and for our needs it fitted the bill.

We did not find anything particularly awful about the hotel (altho as a previous reviewer mentioned, you can literally only fit 4 cars in the car park!). Rooms were clean, and had the usual facilities. they were a tad on the small side, and the door opens straight onto the car park/balcony so you need to rem to keep the curtains shut as everyone can see straight into your room..

It's right behind a huge supermarket not the prettiest of locations, but for a 1 night stop over its all we wanted. We didn't eat in the restaurant for breakfast or dinner so I can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

From the start the Hotel was perfect never have i been so welcomed to such a nice little hotel. Set back from the hussle and bussle of such a busy city, you would never know it was their. The staff are so polite, the food outstanding, and the accomadation was just right. From the reservation to check out everything was no problem even when we wanted a last minute Z bed in the room.

Well worth a visit. AAA+++

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank steveandshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Through convenience to area where we were working, a group booking was made for this hotel for 2 weeks. From the receptionist who just gave key to me, without checking card details, should have been first hint. problems getting in the room, the next. Cracked sink and towels with holes the last. Creaking floorboards. If you have a downstairs room - beware! You can hear every footstep of the person above you!! And catch the activites of the person next door as an added bonus...

The overall service in time spent here was dismal, Service in the restaurant was slow (table booked for 7.30, 1st person got starter at 8.40), insolent waitresses, boy racers screeching up and down each night, This is a motel masquerading as a hotel. When looking at virtual site, car parking looks lot larger than is. you can park 4 cars if your lucky.

Not safe for single women travellers as outer door leads direct onto outer balcony, and unless you shut curtains straight away, the interior of the rooms can be seen quite clearly. Keep looking if this hotel comes up!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank charmed1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2006

A clean and comfortable room...if you could get into it in the first place! This hotel has the most complicated keycard and lock system, and I had summon help twice to get into my room. Eventually I asked to move. Staff were helpful, long suffering and equally exasperated with the locks, tugging and pulling and saying " We have told him, but he won't change them. Everyone complains"
I skipped dinner as I could not face going out and trying to get back in. Breakfast was most welcome, and not bad.
Joked with another guest on leaving who was also complaining about the locks that they change the name to The Crazy Lock Hotel. Ironic that. This used to be a prison. Usually locks are for keeping people in, not keeping them out.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boredofthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
4.7 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,331 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,582 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Hotel

Address: 635 Penistone Road | Hillsborough Barracks, Sheffield S6 2GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $71 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garrison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Garrison Hotel Sheffield Here at the Garrison Hotel Sheffield, we pride ourselves on our distinctively unique historical character and award winning grounds and gardens, one of the only independently owned Sheffield Hotels. The Garrison Hotel Sheffield is Grade II Listed, situated within Hillsborough Barracks and is a former military guardhouse, ammunition base completed in 1854. An ideal hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing, short stay or weekend break, come and experience the ambience of our Guardhouse Bar and Restaurant. Boasting 43 spacious cosy en-suite bedrooms complete with 26 inch Flat screen LED Televisions, freeview and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. A complimentary fast and reliable private internet line powers the Wifi access in all Hotel bedrooms and public areas. Our special atmosphere is combined with a superb convenience and service from our friendly staff to ensure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Garrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing