We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding”
Review of The Garrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Garrison Hotel
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed two nights for a family wedding, nice rooms, we had a family room and a double, good value for money although the lady on reception could do with a bit of training on customer relations, when we asked if it would be possible to change one of the rooms we were told no chance you have been in it ( just went in to inspect it didn't even take any luggage in)!!!!! When we eventually took our belongings in and started to settle in a baby's bottle was found on the floor behind the curtains - says a lot about the cleaning. To be fair we had a lovely stay and the majority of the staff we had contact with we're very helpful, one drawback there is only one bar and children are not allowed in after 8 not very good if you on a family break ( we were told we could sit outside in the smoking area with a 7 & 2 year old !!!!! There are heaters out there) the wedding was brilliant and the food and venue second to none

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have mobility problems too many steps, slopes and cobbles
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    146
    67
    24
    21
See reviews for
102
151
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Having stayed at the garrison a number of times we were expecting the usual standard of service and accommodation, it wasn\'t to be.

On arrival we checked in and went to our room, the cot we requested when we phoned to book wasn\'t in the room so I went to reception and asked and was told we\'d booked a family room, not a cot and she would have to see if she could find one, I know we booked a cot because we have a baby and my husband asked for a double, 2 singles and a cot on booking because his opening statement was can you take 3 children in a family room, 2 in beds and one in a cot?!

When we got back to the room after going to get something to eat there was a cot in there but the attitude of the receptionist was not helpful!

Then, around 8pm the boom, boom, boom of the music from the function room started, not entirely helpful when trying to get three children settled, some warning of this would have been appreciated, we may have reconsidered where to stay.

Then, breakfast and oh how standards have slipped! the range was appalling and my husbands egg was swimming in grease and oil, all in all the whole breakfast was pretty well inedible.

Disappointing from the garrison, we will have to reconsider where we stay in future which is a pity as we have family 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very comfortable room on ground floor. Sharon at reception was very helpful. Being a historic building I would say it is difficult for anyone with mobility problems as there are lots of steps to the restaurant. We were allowed to park in a disabled space as my husband has temporary leg problems, and we were also allocated a disabled friendly room. The central courtyard is very pretty. We did not try the bar. Our only complaint would be the lack of clear signage from the approach road and the main (Penistone) road, as to where the hotel is and where you can park. Very good value.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems ask for a room near the disabled parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were very happy we chose this hotel for our family reunion. The rooms were all spotless and yes they do have new beds because they were very comfortable. We all felt it was good value for money. Plenty of choice in the bar including real ales and foreign beers. All the staff we dealt with were polite and helpful even at breakfast on Sunday morning when it got a bit frantic as everyone seemed to turn up at the same time which led to some delays. It is a quirky building and the layout of the rooms is similar to a motel but the quality was high. The tram is just up the hill and meant we had a night out in town without the car! We would definitely stay here again if in Sheffield.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way home to split up a long journey. It is extremely interesting as it is set within Hillsborough Garrison which was an old Victorian army garrison which has been renovated reasonably recently into a shopping area. It's a bit like a Premier Inn/Travelodge except the rooms are bigger and decorated much better. Tea and coffee, hairdryer, tv - lovely bed. Breakfast was continental plus English and was OK.

The area is a little run down and there is very little in the way of restaurants or pubs. We only chose this hotel because we wanted to visit Kelham Island museum and it wasn't far from this hotel. However, the hotel has its own pub and we ate there - food was more than adequate and the service good.

The only fly in the ointment really was an objectionable senior member of staff who decided to have a rant at one of his staff which we could hear quite plainly - including the objectionable rude word he used. Hardly good customer service - perhaps a customer relations course would not be lost on this individual. However, if you are ever in this area, this hotel is good value for money, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper balcony. We were on the main floor with a path and tables and chairs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Reasonable price both for rooms and meals/drinks in the bar.
Rooms are a fair size, plenty of storage, our beds were comfortable, would have preferred duvets though rather than sheets/blankets. Decor looking a bit tired, room ready for an overhaul.
Draught beer on in the bar, a decent pint. Meal choices a bit limited if you're looking for fish, check the website for the menu. Food is good pub standard rather than fine dining, competent but nothing special, prices are good though.
A word of warning for the less mobile, the hotel is on a hillside, numerous steps and trip hazards negotiating the lower levels to the bar/restaurant function room areas.
Finally, all the people who tended to our needs were very friendly, pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Seek advice from the hotel if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iggi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel.

Completely different from your standard hotel and it made for a refreshing change. No long corridors, your door accessible straight off the flowery gardens. Makes it ever better knowing the history of the hotel and a walk around the grounds are interesting.

Such a comfortable, quiet and pleasant stay.

The receptionist is happy and approachable.

Nice breakfast and the pub/bar is good.

For the price, couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinandMick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
4.7 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillsborough Hotel
Hillsborough Hotel
#29 of 53 in Sheffield
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
994 reviews
2.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Hotel

Property: The Garrison Hotel
Address: 635 Penistone Road | Hillsborough Barracks, Sheffield S6 2GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garrison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Garrison Hotel Sheffield Here at the Garrison Hotel Sheffield, we pride ourselves on our distinctively unique historical character and award winning grounds and gardens, one of the only independently owned Sheffield Hotels. The Garrison Hotel Sheffield is Grade II Listed, situated within Hillsborough Barracks and is a former military guardhouse, ammunition base completed in 1854. An ideal hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing, short stay or weekend break, come and experience the ambience of our Guardhouse Bar and Restaurant. Boasting 43 spacious cosy en-suite bedrooms complete with 26 inch Flat screen LED Televisions, freeview and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. A complimentary fast and reliable private internet line powers the Wifi access in all Hotel bedrooms and public areas. Our special atmosphere is combined with a superb convenience and service from our friendly staff to ensure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing