We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garrison Hotel
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel to set up the entertainment for an evenings wedding party,so we saw the hotel in action before anyone arrived,the hotel is spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated,the staff were extremely helpfull as we had loads of equipment to bring in,after we had finished we sat in the public bar and had a drink,it was a very relaxed atmosphere,and reasonably priced for a hotel. The evenings food was very good,varied and hot,I would recommend the garrison as a good place to hold a celebration.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as the hotel seams very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    127
    64
    23
    16
See reviews for
87
130
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A family member had a birthday function in the Jail house function room! Lovely room, good var facilities, bit pricey but then, hotels are! Staff very friendly and efficient! DJ I believe was Garrisons own, played good selection but music didn't 'flow', would get everyone dancing then change pace and style of music after a couple of dance tracks, mood lost! Buffet extremely average despite price! Nothing to write home about! Food and music most important at a function, so despite location and fab room, wouldn't probably, personally, use them again for a family function.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just needed a cheap stopover on a long trip, breakfast would be a bonus. The Garrison seemed to fit the bill and so was booked.

Brilliant!

Arrival was dead easy and out room, which was very spacious and clean was through a beautifully be-planted courtyard. On a summer's evening it was glorious.

The attached pub was fine - food OK, no pulled beer.

Breakfast was basic but again fine.

As a budget stopover it ticked all the boxes. Much more characterful than the otherwise good Meadowhall Teavelodge and breakfast to boot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toastmastergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely conversion of a historic building, The nice rooms are set around a beautiful courtyard. the pub is the old guardhouse and has good beer and wine with good value food. The customer service was great in the hotel and the pub. the free Wifi was very useful. The only real criticism is that the towels are small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod32mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Used by the business to accommodate business clients & associates because of its location. Decided to give it a try so we'd know what it was like. Really nice rooms, Food more than edible - posh pub grub in a restaurant setting. In a good location for access to the City itself and with free car parking. Staff really friendly and can't do enough for you. Lovely outdoor seating area. Biz associates have always been complimentary about it and now we know why. The only let down was the coffee, or to be exact the licquor coffee - Tasted like milky hot water - but then we didn't bother to complain and I'm sure they'd have rectified if we had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The Garrison Hotel, staff welcoming and enjoyed the surroundings. Our meal on our first night in the restaurant was excellent, although the waitress made hard work of the bill when we wanted to divide into four, which then caused problems when we checked out,
The rooms were good, and we had a perfect nights sleep.
Unfortunately the breakfast let the hotel down,, quite chaotic, with only one waitress ( as the Hotel was full she was a little rushed off her feet and one other lady just seemed to be walking around with a cloth in her hand!) The toaster either didn't toast the bread or burnt it, the English breakfast consisted of a cheap sloppy sausage and cheap beans, so wasn't pleasant , but bacon and eggs on the second morning was better. would have liked some Yogurt. My husband thought as we were "up north" he name have got black pudding for breakfast too
Just a few small changes would have given this Hotel an excellent rating

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in May 2013.The room was clean and very tidy.The food was very good and the staff were always friendly.I have stayed here before and would gladly return when Im next in sheffeild

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hillsborough Hotel
Hillsborough Hotel
#31 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
4.7 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Hotel

Property: The Garrison Hotel
Address: 635 Penistone Road | Hillsborough Barracks, Sheffield S6 2GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garrison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Garrison Hotel Sheffield Here at the Garrison Hotel Sheffield, we pride ourselves on our distinctively unique historical character and award winning grounds and gardens, one of the only independently owned Sheffield Hotels. The Garrison Hotel Sheffield is Grade II Listed, situated within Hillsborough Barracks and is a former military guardhouse, ammunition base completed in 1854. An ideal hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing, short stay or weekend break, come and experience the ambience of our Guardhouse Bar and Restaurant. Boasting 43 spacious cosy en-suite bedrooms complete with 26 inch Flat screen LCD Televisions, freeview and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. A complimentary fast and reliable private internet line powers the Wifi access in all Hotel bedrooms and public areas. Our special atmosphere is combined with a superb convenience and service from our friendly staff to ensure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Garrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing