We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Revolucion de Cuba

Revolucion de Cuba
Ranked #47 of 1,429 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rum Fun. Cantina menu served daily until 10pm. Lunch and mid week evening menus also available Daily cocktail Happy hour 3-7pm
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

a lovely bar - try a teapot! a great place to go during day or night with great cuban inspired music.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharlene1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, General Manager at Revolucion de Cuba, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it's always great to hear that our customers enjoy coming to our bar. We work hard to make sure we provide a great atmosphere along with excellent food and drink so its a pleasure to know that we are doing something right!

Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Tina Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    86
    26
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really good food, freshly cooked.. yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I went for a meal out. He had pulled pork, and crispy pork belly kebabs, I had roast veg quesidillas and rice, we shared onion rings and some very hot jalapeno peppers stuffed with cream cheese (hot because they were moments out of the deep frier and were also very spicy!!!! As others have said, its not fast service but the food is cooked to order and is worth waiting for. Service is pleasant and friendly, drinks are lovely.. I had two Mojitos at happy hour.. they were great! On this visit they had run out or churros, long donuts with powdered sugar on.. Had them last time and adored them! We paid about £35 for all this.

The place is well worth a visit :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, General Manager at Revolucion de Cuba, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! We take pride in everything we do especially our food. We actually have a few new items joining our menu in a couple of weeks that are equally delicious so look out for those. We always strive to provide the best service and because everything is freshly made sometimes this does take a little longer but I'm glad it was worth the wait!

Thanks again and I look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards

Tina Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent: good food, good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tapas varied, delicious, decent portions. Blackened salmon gently spicy, was the report. Service friendly but not speedy. For us this didn't spoil a pleasant weekend lunch with chums. We shall certainly return. The unanimous verdict was that this was a "find."

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewmsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, General Manager at Revolucion de Cuba, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We take pride in what we do and I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. All our cocktails and food are freshly made so this does sometimes take a little longer but only so we can provide the best quality for our customers.
Thanks again and we I look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards

Tina Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“'Theme' Bar - That says it all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

There's nothing terribly wrong with this place in particular. It's just that it's a theme bar that is meant to pull you into the world of Cuba with its decor and drinks served in teapots (I don't really get that one). If you're a fan of themed bars like this then you're going to have a great time. If you're a bit of a snob like me, then you're going to find it all a bit distasteful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, General Manager at Revolucion de Cuba, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are indeed a 'cuban themed' bar and having been to Cuba, we have tried to take all the best elements back with us to create a great bar with a cuban feel. In the 1920's Prohibition era, when alcohol was banned, cocktails were served in teapots to hide the fact that people were consuming alcohol, this is why we serve our cocktails in teapots. We always try to use different glassware to be a point of difference amongst other bars and just have a little fun! Our main priority is creating a great atmosphere and serving great food and drinks. I don't think we are distasteful however I can understand we may not be for everyone.
Thanks again for taking the time to give us some feedback.

Kind Regards

Tina Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cocktails & Tapas ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A night out with my Son's In Laws to be ... And this was just the right place to relax us and break the ice ! Great value cocktails... 2 for 1 before 7pm and the tapas menu was extensive & yummy !
Good music, atmosphere and good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mabel-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, General Manager at Revolucion de Cuba, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and that you took advantage of our great happy hour offers!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards

Tina Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolucion de Cuba also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Revolucion de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing