We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Angel at Holmesfield
Ranked #55 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great beer,service and food. I had a starter of pate that was big enough for a main course. My sea food chowder was the best i have ever had. The other two meals were equally as superb, calves liver that melted in your mouth and a fan of duck breast that looked too good to eat.
If you haven't been for a while give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    50
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a lovely pub”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thanks for catering for our large group of 16 for my sister's hen party. being in the conservatory gave us some privacy. The food was superb and the service also. Plus being coeliac it was so great to dine out where the chef can cater for special diets!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK but wouldn't rush back”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was edible but lacked flavour. We had the Sea Bass in Thai broth which lacked any of the usual Thai flavours. It was also served with roast potatoes which was a strange combination. Would have been better served with rice or noodles. One good point is that they have a good range of Gluten Free dishes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chamb0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and gluten free as well!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been several times to The Angel and each visit has been great. The food is really tasty and well served with a good choice of dishes.
One of my daughters has Coeliac Disease and has to have gluten free food. This restaurant caters really well with most of the meals being either all ready free from gluten or easily modified to be g.f. They even provide a number of g.f sweets which my daughter says is quite unusual (and exciting!)
Thank you to The Angel chef and staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having been quite recently taken over, the new management have created a really good and varied menu. There are also a couple of specials to be had as well. Two real ales are also provided, one by Abbeydale brewery and one by the Thornbridge brewery. The pub is clean and airy, now really catering for meals rather than drinking. The meals we had were very well presented, of a reasonable portion size, and priced at the middle to upper end of the pub food market. This our first, and NOT last visit, gave a really good impression. We will return for some more delicious food and beer. Service was good and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honestandbalanced87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel at Holmesfield also viewed

Holmesfield, Derbyshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Dronfield, Derbyshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Angel at Holmesfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing