We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulshan Balti House

Gulshan Balti House
Ranked #1,015 of 1,417 Restaurants in Sheffield
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place was my all time favorite curry house in Sheffield. But over the years it's just gone down hill.
They must have changed chef's because the curry's are now no different from what you can purchase at Asda.
There was a roomer that the old style chef had left, not sure if this is true.
Service is usually brill tho.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MADMURD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“OKAY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

An ok place with basic a decor and menu.
The Tandoori chicken and Lamb tikka were very greasy, I'm sure they had been deep fried to help them look freshly made - not great.
The rice was also very oilly although the Garlic Chilli Chicken was good.
They don't have a drinks licence at present but you can bring your own if you know.
Ok for a quick meal but not if your looking for a nice evening out.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxerdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very good and surprisingly cheap curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I chose this place after reading the reviews on trip advisor. In my opinon Gulshan is a super little curry house. The staff were very nice, the food was of a very good standard, and I couldn't believe how cheap it was. It's very small - like a cafe really and unfortunately when we were there the place was empty which was a shame given the quality of the experience.

Helpful?
Thank Icebeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“real Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have a general rule of thumb that the more spartan the decor, the better and more authentic the food of an Indian restaurant, and The Gulshan definitely does not deviate from this. We have been going for years, ever since as a student I jumped into a taxi and told the driver to take me to the place where he would go for a curry - and he duly obliged. In the ten or so years since then, it doesn't seem like the prices have increased particularly steeply - any meat curry with rice or three chappatis still comes in at under a fiver, veggie options are even better value. When you consider that you can bring your own booze as well - fantastic. In an area where there is an abundance of fantastic Asian cuisine, The Gulshan still stands out - though it does now have competition from an excellent new place across the road, the name of which escapes me. Anyway, I tend to visit them all in rotation each time I am in Sheffield!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barnsleyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
259 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent curry, cheap too in comparison (4.80 for a veggie or chicken curry), friendly service! The peshwari naan was excellent too. Only minus point was the one smelly toilet!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VindalooQueen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulshan Balti House also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Gulshan Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing