We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Local Cafe”

The ArtHouse Cafe, Deli and Gallery
Ranked #117 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Local Cafe”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ate here twice last week and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. On the first occasion I sampled a panini and a rather large piece of Victoria sandwich, both were lovely. The second time I visited I went with two friends, two of us had the onion flatbread filled with Moroccan style chicken which was delicious and hopefully will see this on the specials board next time I visit. My other friend is coeliac and they were able to do her chosen dish (scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast) gluten free which was excellent. Once again I somehow managed to eat another large piece of Victoria sandwich. Also, decided to try a smoothie on my second visit and I'm very glad that I did as it was lovely and fresh. Will definitely be visiting again next time that I am home as I am desperate to try one of their breakfasts which I am pleased to see that they now serve up to 3pm. Thanks!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyandJames11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    34
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch in The Arthouse”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We travelled far for a lunch at The ArtHouse today and it was well worth it. The menu had plenty of choice for lunch and the four crazy old ladies and I thoroughly enjoyed ours (a few of even managed a cake - delicious!). Beautiful cafe, lovely staff and a choice of local arts and crafts for sale. I would definitely revisit given the chance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carefreecaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just lovely...”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Really love going to the Art House... Have visited several times... Last week I had the Brie, Bacon and Cranberry Pannini and a pot of tea... Fantastic as usual... Reasonably priced... Lunch for two and change from £20... Also love the fact you can buy lovely local crafts...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely homemade food & fab Christmas hampers :)”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Arthouse is my favourite cafe in Penistone and offers tasty & well presented homemade food. The specials board is updated each week with mouthwatering dishes and the cakes (all made in their kitchen) are absolutely delicious.

The hampers which were available for Christmas made super presents & were of a high quality.

I've found the Arthouse staff to be welcoming & friendly.

I only wish they served their breakfast menu all day! x

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penistonemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

9 of us had afternoon tea here on a Saturday afternoon.
We requested gluten free and vegetarian, which was very gratefully received.
The staff could not do enough for us, so helpful and polite.
There was a lovely selection of sandwiches, home made cakes, scones, clotted cream and jam.
A plentiful supply of tea, drinks etc was regularly offered.
Will definitely go back for lunch as the menu looked really good.
There was also a good selection of groceries to buy eg. jams, cakes, condiments.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeechyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The ArtHouse Cafe, Deli and Gallery also viewed

Penistone, South Yorkshire
 
Penistone, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The ArtHouse Cafe, Deli and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing