We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Positively different”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaobaby

Chaobaby
Ranked #67 of 1,427 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ChaoBaby brings a true taste of Thailand to Meadowhall. A vibrant, fun banquet, aimed to replicate the hustle and bustle of a Bangkok street market. Ideal for celebrating, families or simple, convenient dining in Yorkshire's premier shopping centre.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Positively different”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had the best soup here - strong Thai flavours. A bit on the pricey side for lunch but couldn't fault the food and it was all you can eat so if you have a big petite then the price would be good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salwal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaobaby_Meadowhall, Manager at Chaobaby, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your review, and we're glad you like the soup.

See you again soon,
Thanks
Michael Wells
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    169
    54
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolute joke !”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went in today with my wife - who is a vegetarian.
Asked the waitress if they would do a 3 course meal for the same price as a buffet - said yes.
Wife got served one course- then had the same girl deny any knowledge - I think she needs to get a better memory.
The buffet is not something to be really great about - beef, pork and one chicken dish.
Chicken soup is great - however with about 7 dishes in grand total - the place is an absolute joke - zero value for money and I don't think I might go back, even if starving.
Would I recommend - not even to an enemy
Would I go again? Not in my nightmares !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shripadsathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaobaby_Meadowhall, Manager at Chaobaby, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We do not offer a "3-course" option for our diners outright, I'm afraid. What we do offer is an extremely popular banquet at £10.95 / £12.95. Alternatively over the lunch period, all four of our £6.95 main dishes are available as a vegetarian options.

The banquet is offered at a reduced price for vegetarians due to less choice, but there are several starters (and obviously all desserts) suitable for vegetarians. We always provide a vegetarian curry and our fried rice and noodles are always vegetarian.

Clearly there has been a misunderstanding somewhere along the line and I would like to discuss further so please contact me on michael.wells@chaophraya.co.uk.

Finally, we have no record of this being brought up in the restaurant so there's no way it could have been resolved at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goole
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

In Meadowhall shopping with daughter today and we thought we would try ChaoBaby. We chose the serve and return buffet. Staff were all very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. I had a variety of stuff but mainly the Thai beef and Beef in oyster sauce which were very tasty. Daughter loved the Thai green curry with chicken. Atmosphere in the food court at Meadowhall can be very fraught and noisy so it was lovely to have the peaceful and comfortable atmosphere of ChaoBaby. We shared pancakes and strawberry syrup for dessert with fresh fruit salad. All food piping hot, staff attentive and tables clean. Would certainly go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huffers57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaobaby_Meadowhall, Manager at Chaobaby, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for such a great review - we will see you again soon!

Thanks again
Michael Wells
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our first time and we found the food to be very tasty.
A good choice and the curry soup was just brilliant.
We found this to be value for money and look forward to visiting again soon.
Thank you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaobaby_Meadowhall, General Manager at Chaobaby, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi there and many thanks for the great review!

Hopefully, we'll see you again very soon

Thanks again
Michael Wells
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good value especially with voucher cloud”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

been many times before and always enjoyed the food. the soups are delicious. my only niggle would be there could be slightly more choice in the mains. good value if you have a
voucher, bit expensive if not. tasty all the same and will definately be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesseSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaobaby_Meadowhall, General Manager at Chaobaby, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi there,

I am glad you enjoyed your Voucher Cloud offer - don't forget we also have 2-4-1 cocktails through the week!

Thanks again and see you soon
Michael Wells
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaobaby also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Chaobaby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing