We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest hotel ive ever been to”
Review of Hillsborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillsborough Hotel
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The friendliest hotel ive ever been to”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Booked at random to visit our son in Sheffield. We were both given the friendliest welcome we've ever had (thank you Ann). Although were very early our room was ready. A small room but spotless and comfortable. The hotel is part of a pub where even the customers were friendly!! That evening there was a jazz type band playing and although we didnt stay for this we caught the tail end on our return and they were goid. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was any trouble. Will definately return

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lipgloss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
29
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A very pleasant and clean room, a really nice welcome and in a very convenient place for trams and buses.

They brew their own beer and very good it is and cheap too.

A super breakfast in the morning and very friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here when we attended a function at a nearby venue. Everyone could not have been more helpful. They were very friendly and polite and the level of customer service was excellent. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable and the breakfast very tasty. I would stay here again without hesitation and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank newarkguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked just for one night whilst we attended a function at another hotel Im glad we did. A very warm and friendly welcome and got onto our room quickly and efficiently. Room No 6 on the side of the hotel, basic but spotlessly clean warm and comfortable Great bathroom which was massive and warm. Staff cant do enough for you and very friendly and polite. Breakfast really nice. Only comment re room and it's only an observation rather yja than a complaint the Tv on the wall should be sited lower as ehen you lay on the bed to watch it distorts like a negative because of the angle. Mind you we were not in the room long enough to watch much of it. If we are in the area again we would definitely stay again snd would have no hesitation in recommending the Hillsborough Hotel. Thank you we had a short but great stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife,scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 13th - 16th December. The bedroom Number 2 is very basic but also very clean. We did find the bed is a bit knackered now and lacks any support. We got used to the trams and never heard them the second night.

The pub and hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and it was in a great situation for visiting our daughter and grandsons in Walkley.

Will definitely stay there again next time

Room Tip: Take ear plugs with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosesFife_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Level Contributor
347 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is basically a pub with B&B and what it does is perfectly acceptable especially if you are just in Sheffield for a night or two and don't need to be in a chain hotel in the city centre. I stayed in Room 2 which overlooks the main road and, has been mentioned, can be a bit on the noisy side due to the trams which rumble by every ten minutes or so. Having said that the Hillsborough is right by the tram stop so it's easy to get in and out of the city centre. The room was clean and tidy with ensuite facilities; a small TV; wardrobe and drawers and tea/cofee facilities. The bed was a bit on the hard side but I still got a good night's sleep despite the trams. Breakfast is taken in the bar and was the traditional full English with juice and cereals; tea and toast. The pub has a large bar area and a conservatory. They brew their own beer as well as selling guest ales. The pub food was fine and filling and the staff were very friendly and chatty. As for location - well we are not in the Bahamas nor are we in Kew Gardens but it is handy for transport and is a good well-run,straightforward pub with accomodation;home-brew and good value food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are worried about the noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Clean tidy room, just a note re the wash basin in the en suite was a little small for bigger hands. I stopped in room 2 which overlooks the main road and the tramway which proved very noisy with the last tram running at 11.45. I didn't check when the first tram started in the morning but it was early. The beer was very good, I tried four of the house beers, but none were really suitable to my palette. The evening bar staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, a full English of fried egg, bacon, sausage and beans with tea and toast. Would I stay again, no the noise of the trams put me right off, shame really as its beyond their control.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms at the rear, 5 & 6 should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Don Valley Hotel
The Don Valley Hotel
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
118 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
230 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsborough Hotel

Property: Hillsborough Hotel
Address: 54-58 Langsett Road, Sheffield S6 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillsborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hillsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsborough Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing