We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillsborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillsborough Hotel
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Basic and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Not a brilliant location but very cheap with full English breakfast thrown in. Trams are good to get into Sheffield but noisy if you are staying in a room that overlooks the road. As for being over a pub, either you like the smell of beer or you don't. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. Its a nice base to come back to and a good place to stay if you have to be elsewhere most of the day.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is away from the street to reduce tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
26
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I was in Sheffield/closeby for a friends wedding and this was literally the only place that was available. Yes I saw the other reviews first but summised it would do the job (and more importantly what to expect).

TBH I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the rooms are basic but they are CLEAN and they aren't threadbare or tired. The pub/staff below were friendly and the breakfast was quite nice.

For anyone expecting 'more' - well its B&B rooms above a (nice) ale pub. Minimalistic is the right word to describe the place.

Oh and there is free parking down the side of the pub. What more do you want?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Remember this is a pub so don't expect to go to bed at 10pm and it to be quiet downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Why stay in one of Sheffield's many generic budget hotels when you can have as good a standard of accommodation atop a fine local pub?

It's about 10mins by tram from the city centre and there's not much else to the area, but this is a really good local boozer that brew their own beer too.

English breakfast very nice indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCofBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Hillsborough Hotel is a basic, cheap and decent sort of place, the area around it is particulalrly great but if you have to stay in the area - for example visiting football fans for Sheffield Wednesday - then its not a bad choice if you're looking for something cheap and cheerful.

The rooms are basic but decent, but the real selling point is the real ale, and if you're into that its definitely worth a look - you can even get a cheap room if you over indulge!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I had visited here about 10 years ago so knew what to expect but was still frustrated by the difficulty of negotiating the road system to get to the hotel. Room was fine, although location overlooking main road meant that thunder of passing trams was omnipresent. Toilet was an issue with flushing leaving a lot to be desired and damp patch on ceiling rather a stain. However, value for money was outstanding with superb beer available and excellent breakfast as well as very friendly staff. Wii definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totallyuntamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Don't expect frills here - it's not that kind of place, and it's not in the poshest part of town either. But if you just want a quiet, clean and comfortable room above a friendly pub with excellent and keenly priced food and superb beer (they have their own brewery in the basement) then look no further. Buses and trams to Sheffield city centre pass the door, and you can park in the adjacent side-street. The splendid views over the city from the pub's conservatory reminded me of LS Lowry's paintings. The Hillsborough has a deserved place in the Campaign for Real Ale's Good Beer Guide.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

I would like to begin by commending the management of the hotel as they have established a very well place. My check in was swift and efficient. The lady at reception was very pleasant and friendly. My stay was short however I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
1.3 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsborough Hotel

Property: Hillsborough Hotel
Address: 54-58 Langsett Road, Sheffield S6 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillsborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsborough Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing