We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cakes with excellent service.”
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
Ranked #14 of 23 Dessert in Sheffield
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good cakes with excellent service.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the tart au framboise which was average, I have tasted superior versions from little patisseries in Paris (and a lower price). My husband had the chocolate gateau which was very good.

The service was excellent (it was before lunchtime so perhaps that was why we were served promptly?).

Overall a very good experience and I would repeat it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marshypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    64
    45
    36
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I decided to take my Mum here for a late lunch after a wonderful day at the Spa. We got there and found a table. It took over 15 minutes to.be served where we ordered food and drink. It took 20 mins to get our drinks and a further 40mins for food. Mum had ordered a tuna nicoise and I the tuna cheese melt. Mine was okay but at c.£8 it was a rip off. The tuna nicoise though was foul: potatoes were cold and from a tin and the tuna wasn't fresh. It cost around £10 for this. All in all, a complete disappointment and downturn from a brilliant day. Needless to say, will never go back. Slow service, overpriced and terrible quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CiaoFrankieCiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cakes looked amazing in the window which is what drew us in. Decided we were ready for a coffee too so sat down inside. To be honest, I was expecting the interior to be a little bit better. Cheap chairs and tables more greasy spoon than french patisserie. I had a mixed berry tart, my husband had carrot cake. The tart was basically pastry and cream with fruit round the outside....pleasant enough but not really what I was expecting. And my husband "has had better cake". Total bill for 2 coffees and two cakes was just short of £15. Not really VFM. Not likely to go to one of these again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing cakes”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Some friends advised us to try this out as ww love french patisserie, particularly fruit tarts. The tarts did not have proper creme patissiere and tasted no better than a supermarket bought version. The service was pleasant and polite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorney,p'boro
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ummmm”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very busy, very overpriced for a very nice but very big pastry - so big had to leave half - such a waste! Not a lot of space between tables, Ignored when we first entered, admittedly they were busy but they could of said ' we will be with you as soon as we can' Do not think a re-visit will be on the cards!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing