We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing place I've ever been!”

Sheffield Antiques Emporium
Ranked #56 of 163 things to do in Sheffield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vibrant Antiques, Collectables and Vintage Wares. Based in sheffield antiques quarter with around 4 other antiques centres close by. The Emporium has over 50 dealers across 2 floors. There is plenty of car parking right outside. Visitors take items they wish to purchase to the front desk in order to pay. Huge range of wares, great to rummage and good prices.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most amazing place I've ever been!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I can honestly say I've never been so excited to enter a shop. You don't even need to spend money to enjoy this place. Just to spend time looking around all the dirrent types and eras the antiques are from. Yes, they do have some new items but they don't charge antique prices for them! I cannot wait to go again, it really is a treat for anyone to see. Reccomend to anyone I know. Obviously some people do not appreciate what they have to sell, if you have an interest in anything from a different era and not this modern junk, then it's for you.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little find, didnt know it existed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Lived in Sheffield for about 5 years now and never knew about the antiques quarter. This placed is one of three centres all within walking distance of each other. There is the place, the antiques centre and chaple antiques. Each offer something different but all offer great value, dont know why people would by new cheaply made furniture and kitchenware, when there is much better quality available at a lower price and is guaranteed to last longer.
Of the 3, this one is my favourite as they have a greater range than the other 2. Chaple has very good big furniture pieces and antiques centre have lots of stuff to rumage through, this place seems to have a lot of both. Also if you can get there at the weekends when the unit holders are around you can negotiate a better deal. Love all this kind of stuff.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank AJBrown81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great centre for a rumage, even better for the fabulous homemade cakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

The Emporium has a good selection of antiques, collectables and vintage items to rumage through and is definately worth a visit. We regularly find hidden treasure and can spend hours enjoying looking for it! Lynne's Tearoom upstairs has the most fabulous homemade cakes in Sheffield, so much so that we now often make the 30minute drive especially for them. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed with good coffee served in china cups, a real place to indulge yourself and sample some wonderful baking!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's all in the name”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I was led to take a look at the Antiques Emporium at of curiosity-how could a place generate such opposite views?
The entrance was not particularly exciting but once you got past that you found yourself in a veritable' Aladdins cave'. There was plenty to look at and if you were in possession of a discerning eye, bargains to be found. I guess I went along because I was intrigued by the notion of a Contemporary Art space among vintage collectibles and antiques. It took a lot of searching (lots of confusing twists and turns) but when found the mini gallery was a delight!
As to the the cafe- the teas and coffees were served in china cups and saucers and the cake portions were home-made and huge.I didn't try the tea, but the coffee was real coffee not out of a jar.
On the whole I would say that if you happened to be in the general vicinity then the Antiques Emporium was worth a look-see. As long as you focus on the Emporium part of the name and not on the Antique then you can't go wrong.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SILKheadband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a waste of time! Don't Bother,it's all new like a gloifyed car boot!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

I visited this Antiques Centre on the recommenation of the person who previously wrote the review. What a waste of time!!
I can only guess that the they trade from this place because No-one would describe this place in such glowing terms other than someone who has something to gain!!
Far from finding items of interest it was bland and uninteresting. The cafe which we didn't go in because we forgot our torches,it was that dark.
The people serving seemed to resent customers disturbing their cigerette breaks and could hardly raise any enthusiasm.
The good news however is that I did discover two very good centres one directly across the road with a warm and hearty welcome from the staff and a fabulous cafe much more reasonable priced than the cave across the road.
The quality of the items for sale was excellent, we bought very well from here. Just a stones throw away from here was another very pleasant and well presented centre with many French finds.
All in all not a wasted trip but only because of what was near by!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank vintage8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Antiques Emporium also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Sheffield Antiques Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing