We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade, healthy and delicious”

Homemade by Thelma's
Ranked #117 of 1,448 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Essex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Homemade, healthy and delicious”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I can see why this place is doing so well. The basic menu gives a great selection of food, improved even more so by he specials of the day. Everything is marked up if it's gluten free, vegetarian or vegan - and there's a fair few of all of these. Great value for money too. I had a salmon and dill omelette and the quality was fantastic, along with the generous amount of salmon. Yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    21
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic flavours”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place was recommended to us by a friend and we were not disappointed. My boyfriend ordered vegetarian dishes (very unusual) and I also had vegetarian too although there were meaty dishes available too. The flavours were excellent - a few ingredients beautifully combined. We chose a main, and then you can also choose 2 side salads too - highly recommend the chick pea salad!! Very good value for money, will definitely return to try some other options (and desserts).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ach87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Burger Night at Thelma's was perfection”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After a day working in Sheffield we were recommended to drop in on The Burger Night at Homemade by Thelma’s out at Nether Edge. Evidently a popular day time café the two sisters who own it are branching out with some evening bistro and burger nights and my guess is that they will be very successful
Upmarket burger restaurants are very fashionable in London but the trend is slowly spreading northwards and while the décor isn’t the usual fake 50s Americana I have to say the food could stand up to any of the trendy burger joints in the smoke.
The girls have a reputation for delicious fresh food and you can tell they know a thing or two about cooking so while it might not be the hardest thing in the world to cook, get your burger and fries wrong and no one comes back.
We both plumped for the Classic with cheese and streaky bacon which was a mistake in so much that we loved it somuch we were left wishing that one of us had chosen something else to try! The meat was delicious and perfectly cooked with two patties in a toasted milk bun topped with melted cheese and streaky bacon crowned with gherkins and relish and served in a basket ( proper!) with a stack of delicious thick chunky chips. ( Fries areskinny and tasteless.. These were CHIPS)
Alongside the burgers and hotdogs they have 4 veggie and vegan options as well and I have to say they all looked great as we scanned the restaurant enviously looking at other peoples food.
But the sweets were just something else. Not making the same mistake again we ordered a Banana and Peanut butter milkshake and a Knickerbocker Glory to share. Probably about 3000 calories per mouthful and absolutely perfect
People of Sheffield get to know your Burger and shakes and get down to Homemade on a Wednesday evening

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level Contributor
165 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Something different - and very tasty”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I'd been visiting Cat Lane Bakery, and asked if there was anywhere they could recommend for lunch. They suggested Thelma's and what a good suggestion that was. Service was friendly and prompt and food was tasty and different. I'm not a vegetarian - but would eat more vegetarian food if it was this high standard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NantwichBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant food and surroundings”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Quirky little place off the beaten track, with amazing seasonal food. Fresh, lots of veggie and vegan friendly choices, but lots of meat choices too. Staff are friendly and helpful, even willing to read the specials menu in full (forgot glasses!!!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homemade by Thelma's also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Homemade by Thelma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing