We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, Spicy and Excellent value.”

The Street Food Chef
Ranked #31 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Street Food Chef We love street food - it's fresh, simple, honest. We particularly love Mexican street food, as it's delicious, healthy and packed with flavour!All our salsa and meat marinades are made with fresh ingredients. Our aim is to use locally sourced ingredients, (Moss Valley Fine Meats) we will keep you updated using our website, twitter and facebook.Come and find us at one of our Sheffield City Centre locations or at one of the events we are attending this summer, every bite is packed with punch and will keep you coming back for more! Visit us for a take away at 98 Pinstone Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 5, Sun 12 - 4 Or eat in at our licensed canteen at 90 Arundel Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 10, Sun 12 - 9
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, Spicy and Excellent value.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A really nice little informal but smart cafe with friendly staff and excellent food. I had a pan fried veggie burrito which was lovely. I've tried other places in Sheffield for Mexican food and have always been disappointed. No disappointment here.

Cheers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joncSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    90
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very tasty - had the chicken mole mexican plate - downside cheese wasn't melted, rice was a bit hard and you had to pay extra for the guacamole and the cheese! Nice food but amigos on london road is better

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric7J7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Friendly staff and delicious food! We try to make this our regular Friday treat. I recommend the pan fried chicken burrito with hot sauce!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maravilloso!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I ate here last Wednesday evening on a friend's advice and it was fantastic; atmosphere, service and food. It reminded us of the late night cafes and tapas bars that we love in Spain; the music, the abundant napkins, the relaxed informal feel of the place; wonderful.

We ordered two pulled pork burritos with hot salsa (oh my word, that salsa is hot!) and shared a starter of nachos and a large bottle of corona. The food arrived quickly and everything was freshly and beautifully made; there is a lot of love in this food! The burritos are huge and packed with melting chunks of delicious roast pork, rice, beans, salad and cheese. I had added guacamole which was fabulous.

One of the highlights of the meal was when the chef brought over a plate of pork crackling, fresh from the oven. It was amazing.

For two of us the meal came to £17.50; we were so full we couldn't even squeeze in the chocolate elephant ears and ice cream - we will definitely be back to give those a go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsPledgefrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“yummy”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

always yummy, fresh and staff happy to alter to suit your taste as i am not a fan of spicey food. always friendly and helpful with the kids too. a great place to go

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ethanb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Street Food Chef also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Street Food Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing