We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never going back again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rib Shack - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rib Shack
Cuisines: Bar, Barbecue, Pub, American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never going back again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I was quite excited when Rib Shack opened at Valley centertainment , I used to love going to the old Boardwalk restaurant, but was very disappointed with our visit. Place was half empty - never a good sign especially on a Saturday- and very cold. Waitresses did their best but I don't think it helped that the manager was sat watching them all night and complaining - doesn't he trust his staff to get on with their work! We were sat by the kitchen and I could even hear him swearing at the chefs - surprised he has got any staff left if he treats them like that. In fact I think the attitude of managment had a knock on effect on the waitresses as they all looked miserable. Food was disappointing too with small portions and took ages to arrive. Definitely won't be going here again!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank busylizzie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Rib Shack, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
I have read your comments on my Restaurant and iam really sorry you did not enjoy your visit
With this in mind i would like to invite you and a guest to dine with us again to the value of £50.00
I am really disappionted that you were unhappy with your visit and hope that this gesture is by some way of changing your mind about my Restaurants
If you wish to take up my offer please let me know by e-mailing me on steve'digtherib.com
or calling me on 07943826385
Thanks
Steve Palmer-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    0
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Yes starters were great..Then it went downhill,Small ribs and abit tough for me and my son.Alittle fatty too,Potatoe skins looked like they were out of a packet from a well known frozen store!!.Very well done to the point of crisps.Sent it back to find they slid the skins off the plate and replaced them with slightly better ones.Slaw in plastic tubs on your plate!! REALLY!!!. NOT to be repeated for my family.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulixs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sticky and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

At last a reasonable place to get stick sauce over your fingers an face!

Situated in Meadowhall on the upper floor at the entrance to the Oasis. Nice selection of tasty barbecue meat. Reasonably priced. Good service.

Especially liked the sweet potato fries as a alternative to the usual fries?

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g4Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Good, nice atmosphere, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

The kids said it was the best ribs they'd ever had.............................what more can I say about it really ! Nice surroundings with good service and with 10drinks ,6 meals and 2 puddings it came in at about £100 which I didn't think was too bad.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumpingsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Left before ordering it was that bad!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had booked a table for a Saturday evening. Shouldn't have bothered though as the staff still had to make a table for 6 when we got there so they obviously can't manage table bookings in an empty restaurant.

As we sat down we were asked by the waitress if we had a voucher, which we didn't so we were passed menus. After sitting for a few minutes deciding what to order another member of staff came to tell us there were NO RIBS OR STEAKS AVAILABLE!

We left as a Rib Shack with no ribs is a special place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib Shack also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing