We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made me ill !!!!”
Review of Downtown Indian - CLOSED

Downtown Indian
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“made me ill !!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went for a meal at Akbar's in Sheffield and four hours later I was sick. I then spent the next 15 hours with my head in the bowl bringing up every last scrap of chicken korma in my body. Absolutely awful experience. AVOID like the plague.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank timberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nawaab now Lahore restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My review is very similar to the one below.
We went as a group from work, ordered seperate, and our orders all came seperate. So you can imagine some people are eating some not, some having starters and some finishing main course. Starters were not brilliant, main course was average. Always go for dessert in other places but didn;t have the guts to here! Would move up to average if the service was good, but the english waitereses were really good but not the asian ones..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unfortunately Not the Best but okay for what we paid”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visited in December 2012 with friends who expected the Nawaab!
We walked past as there was no one in but we were hungry and it was getting late so turned around and asked if the special was on that was advertised in the window. Four courses for £7.95. We were told that it wasn't but they would do it for us.

We were the only ones in and it was very uncomfortable. We thought that it must have been the waiters first night and that the restaurant cannot have been open long but judging by earlier reviews it must have been open a while.

I had a kebab starter which was lovely but my friends said their starters were too hot.

The menu was a bit misleading as we could not have what we wanted. Certain things were served together so we did not get our first choices.

the main course was heavily spiced with mint and I felt as though the fried onions must have been soaked in vinegar originally.

For what we paid the meal was ok but we would try somewhere else in future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“average indian food”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We ate here on fri 8th july. It was nearly empty and everything was served reasonably. The meat samosas were good and my partner enjoyed his chicken tikka massala. I had the house special indian meal which was ok, quite small portions I thought. No draught beer but the large cobra bottles were sufficient altho a bit dear. All in all a very average meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janusxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“In my opinion”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We last tried this place several months ago and our experience then was bad. Despite that, we thought that out of fairness we ought to give it another go because it used to be very good. Monday at the Newaab used to be excellent value, offering a choice of three different starters, four different main courses (one lamb, one chicken, two vegetarian), rice and freshly prepared breads, all for £7-95. But sadly, it is now awful and needs a rethink.

The spirit burners that are supposed to keep the trays of food hot were not in fact lit and the trays of food were left uncovered. In a restaurant kept at an unwelcomingly cold ambient temperature (about 16 degrees) this meant most of the food was stone cold. It is such a shame. The restaurant is capable of producing the best starters I have ever tasted, but who wants to eat cold onion bhajis, or cold shami kebabs? They have a consistent problem with the silly little spirit burners blowing out and even when lit they only heat the middle few square centimetres of the tray. It doesn’t take a genius to work out that a one-off investment in a few electric food warmers might be a good idea! The buffet meat dishes are now mostly prepared with low grade meat ‘on-the-bone’ and after being picked over by customers it is often difficult to find pieces of bone with meat left on them and often all that is left is cold sauce with cold bones in – yum!. The food was again very bland and tasteless without even a hint of hotness and certainly no fresh chilli in evidence. The vegetarian dishes had again almost run out and what little was left was, of course, stone cold. In fact, the only hot food I had all evening was a freshly cooked garlic nan bread – it’s a shame that I asked for a tandoori roti, but apparently they had run out of flour for rotis.

Looking at the menu, £7-95 seemed good value for as much as you could eat of onion bhaji, shami kebab, tandoori hot wings, lamb balti, chicken karahie, tarka dall, bombay aloo, pilau rice, tandoori roti and garlic nan bread. But if it is all so bland and/or so cold that you can’t eat it, then it is very poor value indeed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Syed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Indian also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing