We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sound sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edo Sushi Takeaway

Edo Sushi Takeaway
Ranked #27 of 1,417 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Japanese, Fast Food, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small authentic Japanese run take-out in Sheffield City Centre. We serve the freshest handmade sushi and also Japanese hot food, such as Chicken katsu curry & rice for lunch-time and deliveries for the evening. We maintain standards of food quality, hygiene and service to the highest by ongoing training, support and feedback from customers. Thank you.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sound sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Edo had been recommended by a work colleague who raved about the lunchtime sushi deal. Just been to sample it for myself and was not disappointed. At a fiver for some miso soup and a 13 piece sushi box you can't go wrong. As previous reviewers have mentioned the sushi is fresh and delicious (unlike a lot of the supermarket stuff), reasonably priced and is better than some other local sushi restaurants. Although there there were four other people waiting the sushi boxes are pre-prepared, so I had a short wait as well. This is sure to become a regular weekly lunchtime port of call.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rossiter80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edo S, Owner at Edo Sushi Takeaway, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sir/madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your sushi and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    23
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PROPER sushi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The quality of the food at Edo Sushi is fantastic. I have not yet ordered anything to be delivered but working in the city centre I've popped in for lunch quite a few times. The lunchtime specials (£4.50 e.g.teriyaki salmon noodles) are not for everyday but are a real treat for a friday or a payday, or just a day when you're feeling hungry. The wait can be 10 minutes or so for the noodles or rice dishes, but it is completely worth it and it tastes fantastic. The sushi is the freshest I've ever had, I can't imagine why anyone would buy the supermarket version for lunch, there's just no comparison. The box is huge for the price and just delightful.

It's a real pleasure to see a little gem like this open up and succeed in the city centre, long may it continue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank millysandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edo S, Owner at Edo Sushi Takeaway, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your compliments and your custom. We will always do our best to keep our standards high. We also have a whole range of sushi available on the menu which is definitely worth trying, maybe as an accompaniment or on its own if your feeling for something different.

Thanks again,

Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sheffields best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I ordered the lunch time special from Edo Sushi and it was fabulous. I have an egg allergy and they were happy to make me an egg free Sushi box which was delicious. I went in the busy lunch time period and only had to wait for a maximum of ten minutes. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gib3369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edo S, Owner at Edo Sushi Takeaway, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. It''s always a pleasure to tailor our sushi to the needs of our customer on request if possible, especially if it involves allergies as this is of utmost important to both yourselves and us.

Best Wishes,

Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent lunchtime deals,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lunchtime specials at this place are excellent value, Staff very polite and attentive from walking inn to leaving, The sushi is outstanding , I can't wait to work my way through the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edo S, Owner at Edo Sushi Takeaway, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for your review. If you pop in from time to time you will also notice our Lunch time specials change, sometimes with things on the menu and occasionally dishes that are not.

Kind Regards,

Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh, friendly, tasteful take-out, not eat-in...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Journey started when I phoned to order and discovered that Unagi rice price increased (website not yet updated) but I went ahead to order anyway which confirmed it was a good choice - large container with rice and a generous portion of eel pieces. Chefs sashimi selection is more pricey than what I would normally pay but it turned out to have eight extremely large and thick slices of salmon, tuna and white fish. Also ordered a selection of gunkan and roll. Most boxes come with a huge and very strong block of wasabi, definitely the best compared with any other high street sushi chains I've ever been in London. I asked for a receipt however they had to hand-written one on the small piece of order paper itself. It is ok to me but it might not impress other businessmen. Overall, a nice experience and I will definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank v631fjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edo S, Owner at Edo Sushi Takeaway, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Hopefully by the next time you visit we will have addressed most if not all your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edo Sushi Takeaway also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Edo Sushi Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing