We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year break ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New year break ”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The location and value for money can't be bettered at this hotel. It was a 10 minute walk into town for shopping and nightlife. You can also get a nearby tram to the huge Meadowhall shopping mall. The rooms are a good size with clean towels etc everyday. The staff here are excellent, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good (only disappointment was tinned tomatoes). A carpark is being built outside the hotel which will then warrant a 4 star rating. After a late nightout celebrating Newyear the hotel offered a late 12pm breakfast and a 2pm checkout. You couldn't ask for more. Would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank p0ppy1wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had an enjoyable New Year break, we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield.

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    128
    97
    45
    46
See reviews for
65
116
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect as it's only a few minutes walk into town across the road, and the transport system. I used this hotel for one nights stay to go to a concert at the Motorpoint Arena and the tram system takes you to the door. However, the hotel does not have its own car park but uses a secure car park across the road at a cost of £5.50 overnight. Alternatively, you can use the hotel car park next door for £5.00 but this is not secure.
All in all, a perfect base for a night or two that is clean and comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to go Xmas shopping but would definitely return for a longer stay. Lovely hotel with great staff and comfy rooms. Nice touch was having the centre section of the bathroom mirror heated to stop it steaming up. Our room was on 8th floor so very quiet with great views over the city. Breakfast was served in the restaurant with a huge choice of hot & cold food and drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

just got back after a week end staying here can"t praise it enough from the reception staff bar staff cleaners all friendly and helpful.some one always on reception any time of the day nothing was too much trouble ordering a taxi for us then ringing r room wen it came room very spacious and bathroom was very big spotless clean .only a short walk to the centre .would certainly stay here again.thank you very much.

Room Tip: we was on 6th floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind comments to the team.
We hope to welcome you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the big reunion concert. The reception staff were fantastic in checking us in and advising us what transport to use. couldn't ask for anymore. We were on the 6th floor, or room was lovely and clean and nice and quiet. Our beds were comfy and the bathroom spotless. We had a meal in the restaurant, the staff were lovely. Pricing was very reasonable. Only point was that the food was a little under par for the hotel. The ciabatta was untoasted and dry and our would of been nice for a bit more tuna filling, I added mayonnaise to make it easier to eat. Would definitely come back and recommend to others. Thank you for our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sdavenport84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Every December for the last 7 years we have been staying here, once again we have had a lovely 3 nights stay, the rooms are always exceptionally clean, the staff are always friendly and helpful, John in the restaurant always makes sure there is a great spread to choose from and nothing is too much trouble, and there is always a friendly welcome from Emma on reception.
A great location for shopping at Meadowhall, for sightseeing and for attending concerts at motor point arena. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room ask for one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaustaffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay once again and very much look forward to welcoming you back next year, from all the team at the Metropolitan we hope you have a great Christmas & best wishes for the New Year

Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for just one night. It is your average three star hotel which is situated 10 minutes from the centre. I found the room to be comfortable and clean. The bar was only serving soup and sandwiches but that was stated on their web site. There was a nice cooked breakfast in the morning and also cereal and pastries. If you don't want to spend too much money on a nights stay this is ideal.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggysue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Property: Sheffield Metropolitan
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing