We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the discount folks!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheffield Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Not worth the discount folks!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am currently staying the hotel right now. The staff seem to be friendly, but the hotel itself is in really bad condition. My hotel room is humid and does not have any proper air flow. Although my room is a non-smoking room, the vents in the bathroom are shared somehow and cigarette smoke seeps into my room constantly. Also, the furniture is old and my desk was very sticky (very likely due to the humidity). There is no safe in the room, nor is there an iron and iron board (although this was brought up to me when I called the friendly lady at the front desk). All in all, in retrospect, I'd pay a few extra bucks for a more comfortable hotel. A major renovation is needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank na-visistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us

We a very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and accommodation that is cleaned to a very high standard.

I will investigate the smoking issue as the entire floor is non smoking and this should not have occurred so please accept my apologies.

We are now putting together proposals for a new generation of bedroom design which I am sure will meet your needs in the future
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    115
    77
    37
    39
See reviews for
56
93
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

It clearly used to be a Park Inn and has some of the design features associated with this brand. It was clean and a good sized room too. Well worth the money for a city centre hotel & easy to find.
Multi storey car park behind only cost £3 for the night, which was also a bargain!
Only negative was the shower/ bath tub. It was so slippy that I back flipped out of it and ended up on the floor of the bathroom, clutching the shower curtain. I didn't realise that I could backflip! Luckilly, I was still slightly drunk from the night before, so this probably made sure that I didn't break my wrists but it did give me quite a shock. Sort some rubber matting out or something before someone does some real damage to themselves.
Good service throughout.

If you need somewhere to crash at Travel lodge prices, but that little bit nicer, try here. I was pretty happy with it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K4ty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback regarding the bath surface, they do have anti slip dots on the bottom but I will have the surface checked. Extra non slips rubber mats are also available on request.

Than you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in Sheffield for two nights for a conference in April, many other delegates stayed in the same hotel (some others stayed in the Holiday Inn express nearby). The facilities are good and the room's size is not bad either. The bedding is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is decent. There's not much noise at night. The only problem is a the distance for walking from City Hall, the venue of this conference. Everything else looks excellent. If I visit Sheffield again I would seriously consider Sheffield Metropolitan again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the-crimson-cosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again the next time you stay in Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a Saturday nite after the hotel was advertise on treevago for 45 a nite end up being charge 60! The room was advertise having hair condition satellite tv Internet and DVD player ! Not of this existent in room! After informing reception of our disappointment some one call to our room very apologetic never the less extremely well manner and professional dealing with the misleading offer from treevago ! We won't bother to be rushing back ! For 60 pound charge x room there are out there a lot to be choose from in sheffield !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the incorrect information detailed on one of our partner websites. As soon as we were made aware of the incorrect detail we have contacted the site and requested the corrections.

If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me on 0114 2204000

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in June 2013.

I was playing in a tournament at Ice Sheffield and the team had made arrangements with the hotel for breakfast and evening meals to be included in the price.

The rooms were all excellent, clean, modern, comfy beds, great bathroom. Just what was needed after a day on the ice. Rooms were of good temperature and quiet.

The breakfast was a self service full English and the evening meals was a similar self service. I believe this isn't standard hotel practice. However, it was excellent and we all enjoyed it.

I cannot think of anything at all to complain about with this hotel. OK, the old petrol station isn't the most appealing of surroundings but hey, I'm not sleeping outside!!!!!!

I would have no issues with staying here again, neither would any of the 20 members of the team I play for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goshow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope the tournament went well

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel while competing in the British Transplant Games and after reading some of the reviews wasn’t quite sure what to expect, in short I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the station and on arrival I was warmly welcomed by the front desk. The room was clean and spacious and although some of the furniture could do with updating it was no worse than I have experienced some larger branded hotels. Breakfast was acceptable, and with self-service on Tea/Coffee none of the long waits for a member of staff to take your order. We ate as a team in the hotel on the Saturday night and the staff again couldn’t have been more attentive. All in all a confirmation of other reviews, the staff make this a great place to stay. As to the disused garage forecourt, this was being pulled down when I left.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMMO1S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you enjoyed competing in the Transplant Games.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here whilst attending British Transplant Games with the Berkshire Royals Team. The service was excellent. They dealt with our group booking extremely well. Reception staff were brilliant; always smiling and keen to answer any questions or give directions. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted yopu enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#31 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Property: Sheffield Metropolitan
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing