We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheffield Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Quality hotel with great facilities. Swimming pool and spa facilities were very good. Had a 2 night stay in a double room. Room is great size. Breakfast was fantastic. 10min leisurely stroll to sheffield high street. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Headless1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    115
    77
    37
    39
See reviews for
56
93
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I will say that the staff at the hotel were fantastic. They were efficient, welcoming and friendly. Sadly, the actual hotel does not match up to the service.

We chose to stay here as we were in Sheffield for a special occasion and fancied staying somewhere a bit more special than your average travel lodge. Given the price being £80 per night I gathered that this hotel must be a step above the budget hotels. I was very wrong.

The room was just so disappointing! It was in serious need of a refurbishment. Damaged furniture and carpets, no ceiling lighting, stained sink and bath, the shower curtain rail was covered in rust and black dirt and the decor of the bathroom was something I would have expected to see in the 80s!

If the rooms were priced at the same rates as the Ibis then maybe I would have accepted that the standards wouldn't have been too high- but I have stayed in much nicer rooms in the ibis, travel lodge and holiday inn.

In conclusion I think that this hotel needs to be modernised very quickly! It is far too expensive for what it is and simply cannot compete with the cheaper and newer hotels in the area. With its great staff it could be excellent. Unfortunately it was utterly disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laalaaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

I will have the maintenance team investigate the issues with your room & bathroom, as you will see from previous comments we pride ourselves on providing a high standard of cleanliness to all our guests so please accept my apologies.

I will pass on your kind comments regarding the staff and if you would like to discuss any of the issues further please do not hesitate to contact me on 0114 2204000

Best Regards
Ian Slater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a weekend here Friday 1st March Saturday 2nd March and had a great time. The reception staff were all lovely and made us feel welcome every time we passed by the desk. The room was nice and spacious with much appreciated tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Although the hotel was busy we were not bothered by any noise and both had lovely comfy beds ensuring 2 good nights sleep. No expense was spared re heating and we were toasty warm all of the time. Well done to all for providing good quality for a budget price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank carol and mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the team and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was a bargain of the year and including breakfast ---the staff were very welcoming and helpful the hotel was nice and warm including the public areas--when the council allow for a bigger sign it will make it a little easier to find ---car parking arrangements are good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at The Sheffield Metropolitan
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield

Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I used the hotel to accommodate a large group of students working on projects at the University. The staff could not have been more helpful. Room allocation was a breeze. All the staff from the reception , restaurant and kitchen could not have been more helpful. Rooms are great value and comfortable. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisajm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent booking at the Sheffield Metropolitan hotel

We are delighted the group enjoyed their stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

just back from the sheffield metropolitan stayed for 2 night myself and my sister ,we were visiting family and wanted to be near the center ,this hotel is a great location .10 mins walk from the train station ,very comfortable hotel and quiet.the staff are so lovely and plesent a special thank you to gemma at reception she was so lovely and very helpfull lots of smiles all round from all the staff and the young girl in the bar was very nice to us well done to who hires the staff.sheffield its self is very old and could do with a little more attention to cleaning the back streets but all big citys have these problems ,i must say the city has the best public transport services i have ever come across well done sheffield .to sum up my view i would recommend this hotel to any one wanting to visit this city, enjoy your trip,vivian and helen from limerick ireland

Room Tip: the 7th floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirelyvalintine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan and very much look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Sheffield
Best regards
Ian Slater
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Friend and I went for last minute break . on entering Hotel found everyone very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble. Hotel has just changed hands so if you go to Sheffield to see any of the shows there .which are great give it a chance , My friend and I where impressed , as we booked on last minute .com .It is a little out of the way but the staff soon gave us short cut to get to centre. Taxi was ordered for us to get to station as weather was gross.Lots of buses to take you anywhere just opposite hotel ,We will use it again

Room Tip: We had double room ,first thing apart from cosy was lovely and warm , heater on wall you could adju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Sheffield Metropolitan and for your kind comments regarding the hotel staff.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#31 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Property: Sheffield Metropolitan
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing