We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here overnight because of a family party in the area. Nice reception area, one lift working (of two), nice artwork on the walls. Very warm room, but with the facility to turn down the storage heater to a more pleasant temp. Shower almost cold - better after maintenance came, but cold again the following morning. Had a snack in the bar - ok but overpriced. Usually like to go out forbreakfast when staying away but there was NOTHING open nearby. Because it was a Sunday even the local Tesco was closed until 11am. Nice late checkout time - midday.
Park at Castlegate (QPark) - directions on the hotel website - £5.50 for 24 hours - pay at hotel rather than the car park. NB - this car park is amazing - it even has a shoe shine service(!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan
Regarding the problem with your shower our engineer will make further checks in order to resolve the problem.
We hope to see you again on your travels to Sheffield and we like the car park too

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 476 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here overnight when our car broke down. Found the hotel rooms to be comfy clean and warm with plenty of tea making facilities and nice toiletries. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Eat in the restaurant in the evening - nice choice on the menu and the food was pretty good.
When I booked through booking.com it advertised free wi-fi through out the hotel but this is not the case you have to pay for it - but fair play when I showed my booking form to the receptionist showing it saying free wi-fi she didn't hesitate in honouring it.
Would not hesitate about staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISheffield, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan.

I am delighted you enjoyed our service and very much look forward to welcoming you again and hopefully the next time you visit Sheffield your stay over will be a scheduled one.

Yours sincerely
Ian Slater
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had to book here as all others in Sheffield were full.

It was what you expect from a budget hotel. Clean, functional and okay.

The car park is across the main road. The breakfast was not really worth getting up for.

I'd stay again if needed, but for the same price others are better locally

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank alexgray-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISheffield, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you forproviding us with feedback regarding your stay, I have noted your comments regarding breakfast, we normally receive very positive comments regarding our breakfast and will follow up with the restaurant team to see how we can further improve our offer.

I hope you will consider us on your future travels to Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Where to begin... firstly, this is no longer a Park Inn by Radisson Hotel. We booked our overnight stay here back in december and booked direct on their website, we entered our visa details and expected that our room was paid for...we found out on the day that actually this was not the case, what would they have done if we didn't have the money to pay for this as we were of the understanding we had ALREADY paid!
Secondly, the location is terrible, fair enough it is off the main road but trying to find ANY car park is not easy, we parked in the NCP car park behind to find the car park is closed on a sunday so we would not have been able to get our car out to get home, the parking is £7.50 per 24 hours YET if you nip out then you have to PAY AGAIN!!!!!!
This hotel was apparently taken over on 1st october to become the "Sheffield Metropolitan" we were never informed of this hence why we could not find the hotel as there were no signs on the hotel building saying park inn, the receptionist did say that we were meant to have been told about the change but never received any communication from them.
The worst part of this hotel is the appearence, (please see the photos I have uploaded) it is shocking, beer bottles everywhere, rubbish everywhere, and there are no signs when you actually do park to say how to get into the building, e.g. Reception signs.

Once we entered the hotel the reception staff were helpful but after all of the above we decided we did not want to leave our car in the car park let alone stay in the building..so we cancelled our room

Overall dreadful hotel and area, would NOT recommend to ANYONE!!!

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank GreInTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank ilmac1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: $49 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing