We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our night”
Review of Viraaj Restaurant

Viraaj Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 1,454 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Made our night”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked in another restaurant but ended up having to leave as staff were rude and very unorganised. We arrived at Viraaj with no booking the restaurant was full, but staff made us very welcome sat us down at bar with a drink, while they got a table ready, we only waited about 5 to 10 mins and were shown to a table. Staff were very helpful and friendly our meal was excellent and did not find it expensive for the quality of food we received all in all this made our valentines night an excellent evening looking forward to our next visit. Thank you to all staff for saving our valentine night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    74
    21
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent night out”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Booked a table for six for my son's 22nd birthday. Table ready and waiting, friendly reception. Very helpful staff, pointing out specialities and offering to vary recipes - more or less chillis or leaving mushrooms out of veg curry. Menu has all the usual favourites plus a long list of less familiar dishes. Everyone very happy with their choices - tasty and large portions. Waiter had overheard talk of the birthday and produced chocolate cake with a fizzing firework to celebrate, followed by free Baileys all round. In an area well stocked with average restaurants, the Viraaj is going the extra mile and making an effort to please. Will be back very soon

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very average dining experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked after reading the excellent reviews.We reserved a table online but when we arrived our table wasn't ready and it didn't appear that they had our booking. Not a great start to the night. We waited at the bar for approx 30mins.We cannot complain about the food it was OK but not fantastic.We were disappointed after anticipating something special.The decor was modern but the carpet in the doorway was extremely stained. Toilets were very clean.Staff friendly if a little unorganized.Probably won't return again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Okay Indian”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Booked online for a meal here about a week before going last Saturday evening.
Table was booked for 9pm and arrived on time, however upon speaking to staff they did not appear to have the booking, even though the online booking was confirmed by email.
We were asked to wait in the reception area while they got a table ready which took 20 mins!
Two of us had Onion Bahji's and these were good and well cooked, another dish was fish based and was also good and reasonably spiced however it could have done with more seasoning (trained chef was the consumer of this dish).
Mains arrived two of which were lamb dishes but unfortunately the lamb was of poor quality and was quite fatty. Taste was just ok not good but not bad either.
If you drink bottled Cobra order the 660ml bottle as opposed to the 750ml bottle as for some reason they charge a lot more per 100ml for the bigger bottle!!!!!!!!!!
The place itself is reasonable and is fairly clean apart from the carpet at the entrance door which is quite dirty.
Would probably revisit if it was someone elses choice but my own choice would be to try somewhere different/new.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Del B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRAAJ743, Manager at Viraaj Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are sorry if there was any mix up with the booking Saturday was a very busy night at that time we only had guests which had booked as restaurant was full and some guests was more than happy to have a drink at reception and look at the menu and order and then go to the table.

We are sorry to learn that some comments on the food was not to your liking it is a shame that you did not raise this with your waiter during your visit and did not allow us the opportunity so we could have done something to rectify this aspect of meal.

This is for your information the standard Cobra beer 660ml is 4.8% alcohol and is totally different to the bottle you are mentioning in your comments 750ml bottle which is called King Cobra which contains 7.5% alcohol this is a stronger beer. Once again if this was told to us at your visit we would be more than happy to show you the bottles and explain further.

Over the years we have built a reputation for good quality food and great customer service and we take customer feedback to improve further.

I hope you do not get putt off by your recent visit and hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went early Friday nite with the mrs for a few beers and a curry, was fairly quiete when we arrived but soon filled up. The restaurant is spotless and the waiters very cheerful and attentive. The pickle tray with the popadoms was excellent particularly the carrot dish, I had a lamb madras and kulcha nan the mrs had a sizzling dish. Food was excellent and a good price, def recommend if your on woodseats

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodseatsmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viraaj Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Viraaj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing