We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average dining experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Viraaj Restaurant

Viraaj Restaurant
Ranked #97 of 1,427 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very average dining experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked after reading the excellent reviews.We reserved a table online but when we arrived our table wasn't ready and it didn't appear that they had our booking. Not a great start to the night. We waited at the bar for approx 30mins.We cannot complain about the food it was OK but not fantastic.We were disappointed after anticipating something special.The decor was modern but the carpet in the doorway was extremely stained. Toilets were very clean.Staff friendly if a little unorganized.Probably won't return again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    72
    21
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Okay Indian”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Booked online for a meal here about a week before going last Saturday evening.
Table was booked for 9pm and arrived on time, however upon speaking to staff they did not appear to have the booking, even though the online booking was confirmed by email.
We were asked to wait in the reception area while they got a table ready which took 20 mins!
Two of us had Onion Bahji's and these were good and well cooked, another dish was fish based and was also good and reasonably spiced however it could have done with more seasoning (trained chef was the consumer of this dish).
Mains arrived two of which were lamb dishes but unfortunately the lamb was of poor quality and was quite fatty. Taste was just ok not good but not bad either.
If you drink bottled Cobra order the 660ml bottle as opposed to the 750ml bottle as for some reason they charge a lot more per 100ml for the bigger bottle!!!!!!!!!!
The place itself is reasonable and is fairly clean apart from the carpet at the entrance door which is quite dirty.
Would probably revisit if it was someone elses choice but my own choice would be to try somewhere different/new.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Del B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRAAJ743, Manager at Viraaj Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are sorry if there was any mix up with the booking Saturday was a very busy night at that time we only had guests which had booked as restaurant was full and some guests was more than happy to have a drink at reception and look at the menu and order and then go to the table.

We are sorry to learn that some comments on the food was not to your liking it is a shame that you did not raise this with your waiter during your visit and did not allow us the opportunity so we could have done something to rectify this aspect of meal.

This is for your information the standard Cobra beer 660ml is 4.8% alcohol and is totally different to the bottle you are mentioning in your comments 750ml bottle which is called King Cobra which contains 7.5% alcohol this is a stronger beer. Once again if this was told to us at your visit we would be more than happy to show you the bottles and explain further.

Over the years we have built a reputation for good quality food and great customer service and we take customer feedback to improve further.

I hope you do not get putt off by your recent visit and hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went early Friday nite with the mrs for a few beers and a curry, was fairly quiete when we arrived but soon filled up. The restaurant is spotless and the waiters very cheerful and attentive. The pickle tray with the popadoms was excellent particularly the carrot dish, I had a lamb madras and kulcha nan the mrs had a sizzling dish. Food was excellent and a good price, def recommend if your on woodseats

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodseatsmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We visited on a Wednesday night (5th Feb) just after 6.30pm. We thought it might be very quite and quick. There were a few people in at that time and there some nice background music playing. We opted for dishes that we hadn't had before at an Indian. They were nice but possibly not the best choice for us. The food was hot and the service was very good. \On our next visit we will try something more familiar to our tastebuds. Abdul is certainly the little star everyone mentions in their reviews and with our loyalty card we well definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Viraajtastic Buffet”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Viraaj a huge number of times but I've never had the buffet.

So friendly, Abdul is awesome, and really, I've never had an even average meal.

But the buffet was something else. A fabulous selection of food and I've never had a better bhaji EVER!!!

Overall, amazing!!!

Helpful?
Thank CakeyStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viraaj Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Viraaj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing