We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, relaxing place!”
Review of Viraaj Restaurant

Viraaj Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A lovely, relaxing place!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been going to the Viraaj since it opened, we liked it then and still drop in pretty frequently for a good meal. On our last visit we found that a number of new and unfamiliar dishes had been added to the menu, and so we had to try them, with help from the every friendly and helpful staff, giving descriptions and altering degrees of hotness if required for the less adventurous.
Needless to say we enjoyed the new as much as we have enjoyed our previous favourites. We also have used Viraaj's take away service, which is also very efficient. In fact whenever we have been away on holiday and return home, instead of having to cook a meal, my husband tells me that we should round off our holiday with a Viraaj take away. It has now become a tradition in the family! I can't see this changing any time soon it's such a great way to end any holiday!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    74
    21
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This restaurant never fails to deliver”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited this restaurant again as we enjoyed our last visit so much. This visit was just as good as the last. We decided to try something different and the staff were friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe how reasonable the bill was - we had starters, mains and a couple of drinks all for well under £40. We will definitely be going again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeangmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our party of 4 included one vegetarian who was inexperienced in Indian cuisine. The staff could not have been more helpful in assisting making an appropriate choice of dishes and when the meal arrived, both the quality and quantity was beyond expectation. The bill, including drinks, was considerably less than £20 per head, making our experience of this restaurant memorable for the right reasons. We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A light meal for a hot day”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After watching Andy Murray Win Wimbledon what more could you want but an excellent meal served by really friendly waiters , Last night was just that we enjoyed a lovely Cod Sizzler accompanied by King Prawns in a delicious sauce with Lemon Rice and a side order of lovely crispy chips , all well served by Abdul and the rest of the team, Could not have been better,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I can't recommend the Viraaj highly enough, I travel all around the UK and Ireland for my work and eat curry in many different restaurants in many different places. I'm so lucky that the Viraaj is my local. The food is consistently excellent. The chefs must be among the country's very best. The quality of food is good whether its eaten in or taken away. The staff are always so cheerful and helpful and also knowledgable of how the food is prepared and what ingredients are used when it comes to recommending dishes. Try the Tarka Dall with chilli for a very tasty side dish. Once you've eaten there you'll wish it was your local too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viraaj Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Viraaj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing