We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and lovely people”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #323 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food and lovely people”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Now been 3 times and they have now got into a routine where the food is served quickly and any problems with staff seems to be resolved because the girls are great. The food is always first class and I look forward to my next visit in July. Its only small but that adds to the Italian experience.
A&L

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANDYLINDA1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    8
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not try to go as a party booking”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Went on a Saturday evening early (6-30) as a group of 10. Asked to send to E-mail our main course choices but did not send us menu until day before going. We still managed to send our choices.
All arrived on time and were initially only people in restaurant. Meals arrived at table in 2's and 3's.
First people to be served had finished their quite small portions long before last people had received theirs. By this time there were other customers in restaurant. We are not drunk or noisy people and were talking but not shouting up the table but the owner came anf asked us to be quiet.
We waited for all to finish and left without taking desert or coffee. No digestif given.
It seemed quite expensive for pizzas and pasta but the food was OK but not amazing. The following day the manager E-mailed to apologise for asking us to be quiet and asked us to visit again - no chance!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iainski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great local authentic Italian”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Visited as a table of four. Friendly service and very welcoming. Food arrived quickly and was well presented. Fillet of steak with green peppercorn sauce was cooked as requested and delicious as was the lemon sole. Great organic chocolate cake for pud and Italian cheese selection. All in with corkage great value night out, three courses with sides £30 each. You can't expect food and service like Marco in Milano- this is a small local family run Italian. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fliss435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was the worst food and very rude service ever she said its my restaurant i can say what i want ,will never go back.”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We waited one hour before we had our starters i went to see how long it would be ,she said cant you see we are busy ,with that i sat back down and said nothing to anybody i was quite shocked at how rude she was .10 Min's later our food came as the waitress passed me she spilt some of my friends sauce on my lap did not say she was sorry ,but did say you have a napkin on your knee ,with that i did not say anything.After that she brought our main meal, i ordered rib of beef in a sauce with Italian veg {8 sprouts} My beef was not very good it had lots of Grissel in it, i was not very happy ,so i had a word with the manager and sat back down.My husband ordered Diavola Pizza that should have chilli on it ,there was not any chili on his pizza !so he went to see if she could sort it out with that she came to the table and said is this his pizza ,took it away sprinkled chilli on it and slammed it on the table.,After we had finished our meal my husband went to speak to the manager about how we had been treated ,she said that your wife had been shouting at her 16 year old waitress,.he said i don't think so i know my wife and she is not like that at all,and i am sure everybody in the restaurant would have herd her if she had, I know she was lying and was quite annoyed .With this we paid our bill and left .NEVER TO GO BACK {OUT OF 10 ----- 0 }

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice neghbourhood restaurant - but no Marcello Mastroianni”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just visited with my wife for the first time. First impression was that the owners have managed to turn this tiny unit in an urban shopping area into a chic and comfortable space. The Anglo/Italian service team were efficient, warm and with the correct level of attentiveness.
We thought the selection of dishes was good, though somewhat "straightforward". For us, portion size was fine but I suspect that some would fine them lacking. Perhaps this could be addressed by offering bread with the meal as one might normally expect outside the UK?
We don't agree with the earlier criticism re. price/value (perhaps prices have been adjusted?). We had two 3-course meals, two coffees and corkage (£2 - result!) and our bill was less than £50. We think that fair for this standard of restaurant.
Overall then, a very pleasant evening that others should try - just don't expect a really sophisticated level of cooking/service.
Finally, just to mention again that (somewhat unusually in this day and age) this place only accepts cash/cheque in payment. Also, the restaurant has no licence so BYO is the order of the day.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerryatricowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing