We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday night in Browns”

Browns Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #89 of 1,430 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friday night in Browns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

A relatively quiet night in Sheffield city centre I suspect due to the appalling weather. Browns offered a warm welcome with their regular Bistro style service. "what it says on the tin'
Not a special experience but OK, and a stones throw from our hotel which was quite a plus for us with the bad weather we had on the night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whistlers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    213
    106
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The happy hour is great! Make sure to order from the right drink menu. The mashed potato with peas are amazing!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ldenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food, Lovely Staff, ( in your WW Eating Out Guide)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our friends had eaten here previously and really recommended it so after a visit to the Lyceum my boyfriend and I and the same two friends thought we would come for tea. Our table was booked for 6:30 - we arrived early and had a couple of drinks in the bar beforehand and our table was ready for us on time which did surprise us as the restaurant was very busy.

The Maitre D and the waitress both looked after us really well. They checked that we were not planning to go to the theatre in case we were in a rush.

For starters 3 of us shared the flatbreads (Aubergine, Courgette, Peppers, Caramelised
Onions, Mozzarella Pearls & Basil Oil) scrumptiious and my boyfriend had the Camembert with apple and raisen chutney which was huge and came with lots of bread (We three ladies tried some as well - it was lovely)

For mains we had Braised shoulder of Lamb, Duck Salad and Belly Pork. We wondered if we would need side orders but the waitress said we wouldn't and she was right - we were full at the end of it and couldn't manage a dessert. The food was excellent, well cooked, well presented and very tasty.

There was plenty of choice of wine, I had a lovely Merlot and the others stuck to beer/lager.

The staff were really friendly, obviously knew a lot about the food being served and were intriegued with the Weightwatchers Eating Out Guide that two of us used to work out what to have - there was plenty of choice on that front.

Would definitly go there again and would try lunch there too as the menu looked great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Poor service, poor cocktails and poor food. Generally it was a terrible experience. The waiter didn't want to be at work thus creating a bad atmosphere. Wouldn't return which is a shame.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12345jenny12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Usually eat here when staying at the Mercure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Busy but worth it. Food is great and the price tag not too steep. Service is excellent and the ambience of Browns is a trade mark - very 'Biba'

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Browns Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing