We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food and drink!”

The Wick At Both Ends
Ranked #325 of 1,463 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We love great food & innovative cocktails. We throw in some fine ales & some great beers from around the world & serve it up in a friendly atmosphere.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fab food and drink!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Ate here twice when staying in Sheffield in March this year. Was lunch time both visits - sandwich (pork, black pudding and apple for me, partner had venison sausage) with hand cut chips fabulous and reasonably priced. Good menu. Always busy. Drinks also reasonably priced. Seems to be popular and always busy. Staff friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    74
    20
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“David absinthe master”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Food was amazing. I'm more of man of heartier portions but thoroughly enjoyed my Sunday dinner. Finished with an absinthe pudding. Absolute treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dexterjclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Has feedback really been given to chef about the burgers?”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Read TA reviews so paid this place a visit yesterday. Couple of previous reviewers commented on quality of burger meat and response was from Management that feedback would be given to chef. Don't think this feedback has been acted upon as I had a burger and agreed with previous reviewers. Have had far superior burgers elsewhere. Tasted processed. Wasn't asked how I wanted it cooked either. Definitely nothing special considering all the great reviews of this place.

Also asked for cheese and bacon on it. Cheddar was either tasteless or there wasn't enough of it - and no bacon appeared. Think the waitress was having a bad day as when the bill came we hadn't been charged for one of the 2 meals (we told them). Also - stingy mayo and ketchup portions.

Friendly service and my partner enjoyed his sausages sandwich but when we come back to Sheffield, it won't be here I'm afraid.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleyMcP, General Manager at The Wick At Both Ends, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and let us know that our food wasn't up to it's usual high standards.

I'm very sorry to hear about the Burgers weren't up to scratch. Feedback was given to the chefs, as it was after we read your post and we have addressed the issues with the meat. We have taken your comments on board and agree 100%, so much so that we are making our burgers by hand from now on.

If you would like I can book you a table and show you with the improvements we have made?

Please drop me an email at Hayley@theharley.co.uk to go ahead.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks again

Hayley
The Wick at Both Ends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Wick Knows How To Party!!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I eat fairly regularly at the wick and im always amazed how this little pub on west street can produce such good quality food. Last week the wick launched there new cocktail menu, After asking the waiter Dave when the launch was and he replied the wick had a week long party planned we decided this was something not to miss. We went on the lua how night to find a ukelele band in full swing the bar had been decorated and the staff looked great in the hawaiin shirts. We started off with a couple of seven hills a favourite from there old menu before switching too a jamaican porter and a thai bride these cocktails were perfectly balanced and beautifully garnished. I would recommend this place too anyone and will be back this week for another great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timtim24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The French Aristocrat I Wish I Was”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Absinthe! Never have I been to a place which delivered such a wonderful absinthe menu. Unfortunately I made the mistake of coming with my mother on her birthday before we went to the theatre, so I was fundamentally banned from trying any. The soup, which I was allowed near, was very good, considering I'm not normally a fan of broccoli and stilton. Ma had the veggie sunday roast, and was permanently delighted by it. More focused on the drinks than the food, which is not a shame; they're decent at both.
Also the wonderful staff, we had a staggeringly competent waitress (peachy dress with butterflies, brown hair, eyeliner. Points to her.) and the bar staff were all delightful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wick At Both Ends also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wick At Both Ends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing