We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good for a bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wick At Both Ends

The Wick At Both Ends
Ranked #226 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We love great food & innovative cocktails. We throw in some fine ales & some great beers from around the world & serve it up in a friendly atmosphere.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Surprisingly good for a bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Came for a Sunday lunch with a friend as this is where we had been for cocktails the night before.
We ordered the rabbit and venison starters, which were both really nice, venison was super fine carpaccio and the rabbit came shredded in a lovely creamy sauce

It was a Sunday so we ordered beef and pork roasts, both were excellent, although the pork was a little bigger. Veg had braised cabbage and parsnips so felt like they'd put a bit of thought into it.

We've had a lot of disapopinting roasts recently but this was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and looked after us well. We normally love this bar for the drinks but would definitely come back for food again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    70
    20
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We called here for lunch while doing our Xmas shopping in Sheffield. We had just sat done at table when waiter came to take our order. we said could he give us some time for us to decide what we wanted. Two minutes later he was back, we ordered and I have to say the food was excellent but our visit was ruined by the waiter rushing us. Half way through our meal he came and put a reserved on table for the next people. Four times he came and asked us if we had finished. We did not even have time to have desert. While we enjoyed the food we will not be eating there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing I could fault, absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I loved: - the music, the decor, the atmosphere, the superbly attentive and friendly staff, the exceptional food, the price, everything!
Went in on a Sunday to a peaceful and cheery atmosphere. Ordered Roast Pork and every element of the dish was beautiful. I initially thought the portion was small, but I found it to be plenty, and it was so good to eat a plate of food where it was quality over quantity. £7.95 was priced right on point, and the polite and efficient staff ensured we were well topped up with drinks. Great dessert, too. Whoever was in charge of decor was a genius. Yeah it was fantastic, thank you and we'll be returning again very soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gjj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I love coming here. Although it doesn't look like much from the outside, inside it's fantastic. They have a great range of beers, the food is top class gastro pub style food, and the cocktails are the best I've had in Sheffield. Well worth a visit for any cocktail lover.

Helpful?
1 Thank stonec0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was looking for a late afternoon per concert meal, took advise from a newspaper review, and booked. On entering what was clearly a student pub, we questioned the choice, however, greeted by genuinely friendly staff, and given a choice of table. Whole venue is retro shabby chic, though provides quiet spaces. We ate the Mackrel pâté and Venison Carpaccio, the later was excellent, then the Beef Cheek Wellington with mash and kale. The main was real good value home cooked food, leaving no room for dessert. With drinks approx £30 was excellent value, rounded off by very attentive staff. Try it, you'll enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wick At Both Ends also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wick At Both Ends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing